video doesn't work, but audio does

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by sofrustratedarg, Aug 21, 2008.

1. sofrustratedarg macrumors newbie

I just bought a MacBook Pro in order to start doing some video editing and am so frustrated that none of my HDV 1080i videos from my Canon XH A1 HD Camcorder are working.

My DP digitized the files to an external hard drive and are saved as quicktime files (I'm new to a mac and for some reason can't see file extensions, only the fact that it says: "Kind: QuickTime Movie", so I assume it's a QT file).

More information about the files are: Codecs: HDV 1080i60 Integer (Little Endian), Timecode.

I can preview the file and open the file in all of the following: QT, iTunes, Final Cut Express and it does the same in all of them - you can hear the audio, but the screen is black for video.

I purchased QT Pro because I read in one forum that it had the codec necessary to show video... but that didn't work.

Can anyone help? I'm so incredibly frustrated with this right now!
    Thanks in advance.:mad:

2. sofrustratedarg thread starter macrumors newbie

convert vob to dv with mpeg stream clip - tried it

Someone suggested:
    You won't get ribbed here unless you ask how to convert VOB files to DV format. ( The answer is MPEGStreamclip )

I downloaded MPEG Streamclip and tried to export a couple files as QT, DV, AVI, and MPEG. None of which made the video appear. The "convert files to" options were not highlighted, so I'm not sure if there's a codec or another version I should try to download.

I didn't think they were VOB files and can't find anywhere if they say VOB or not, since files here don't have extensions for whatever reason.

Any additional help would be greatly appreciated. :D

3. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

LethalWolfe

What software did your DP use to capture the tapes? If he used Final Cut Pro then they are most likely in a codec which you can only get w/FCP (Apple HDV, ProRes, etc.,).

Lethal