Video Editing and Mac Mini Problem

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by ceehjayem, Mar 11, 2009.

1. ceehjayem macrumors regular

Hey everyone, I'm not too technically savvy when it comes to computers. I do amateur video editing with Final Cut Pro. I purchased a Mac Mini (2.0ghz, 1GB RAM, base model) and it's taking forever to render my 1.8gb clip. I think total render time with some music is about 1.5 hours as opposed to my old computer (a 2.4ghz penryn mbp, 2gb ram)which would do it in maybe 10 minutes I'd assume.

My question to you all is, is my unit defective? Will upping the ram increase the clock speed or am I way in over my head purchasing this unit?

HELP!

2. ceehjayem thread starter macrumors regular

For anyone curious, I purchased 4gb of ram and install it into the machine today. I got the same errors in Final Cut Pro that have to do with drop frames with dealing with HD videos. I'm going to return my mini tomorrow in favor of a more powerful machine. It was worth a shot.

3. Hoopdy macrumors 6502

Wow this is making me second guess my decision to opt for the Mac Mini, but I find it strange that your macbook pro, which isn't that much better, would render it so much quicker.

Have you considered just swapping your Mini out for another one?

4. Whackintosh macrumors 6502

This has me scratching my head as well. Haven't people been saying they've had no problems running FCP on their minis? Have you called Apple to see what their take is on this? Hopefully its just faulty hardware.

5. Hoopdy macrumors 6502

I too have a hard time believing it can take that much longer than a comparable machine if everything is functioning correctly. Definitely exchange it before dishing out more money on a iMac, etc.

6. ceehjayem thread starter macrumors regular