Video Editing - iMac or MBP?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by midas, Feb 28, 2008.

1. midas macrumors newbie

Hi all,
    I am buying my first Mac. It will be used mostly for video and photo editing. I have never used a Mac before and my dilemma is between these two configurations. If performance and not portability is the issue, which one would you recommend for video editing? Is a bigger screen better for that purpose? Is iMac compatible in performance with MPB or MPB has the lead?
    I am curious to find out what these, who have used both machines, think.

iMac:
    24-inch
    2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Extreme
    4GB 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM
    1TB Serial ATA Drive

MBP:
    2.6GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    4GB 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM
    250GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm

I haven't gotten it yet and already feel like an addict :)

2. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

bigbossbmb

the iMac would be better since it has a higher resolution screen and uses a 3.5" hard drive.

3. Leemo macrumors 6502

Leemo

I have a 20" iMac I use for editing broadcast material. It more than copes with Final Cut and Motion etc. The only thing I would suggest is not bothering with a 1TB internal drive - as you should always have your applications and footage on separate drives. Just get a large FireWire drive for your footage.

4. rhythman macrumors newbie

iMac and HD DVDs?

I also am about to spend major bucks on a Mac and am deciding between the 20" iMac and Mac Pro, quad core for about $1,000 more. Can the iMac produce very good quality HD DVDs? I want to produce them here in my home studio with Final Cut and Pro Tools audio.
    Your comments are very appreciate.

Chuck S
    Los Angeles, CA

5. seany916 macrumors 6502

For the price of that iMac, get the Mac Pro in Quad, with minimum RAM, 8800 video card & wireless capability.

buy a screen from Dell or someplace that can get you a 24" or larger for a price you can afford.

internal HDs are less than $150 for 500GB models