Video Editing on 13in Macbook Pro

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by NavySEAL6, Jan 25, 2010.

1. NavySEAL6 macrumors 6502a

I know that the screen is too small and theres no video card, but the portability and lower price are a big selling point for me as I'm also a student. Will this computer be able to handle editing 720P footage? Will I just end up waiting longer, or will it physically not be able to do it?

2. Macnoviz macrumors 65816

Macnoviz

I edit 720p footage on a first generation white macbook. (2gb ram, 2 GHz Core -not 2- Duo) And I get by fine.

Granted, the screen gets a bit cramped, but it's not too bad, and you can always add another screen.

I shouldn't worry too much if you get a 13" MBP, which is a lot faster and has better graphics

3. Sirmausalot macrumors 6502a

Sirmausalot

Possibly

You''d be happier with an iMac. Do you really need a 'laptop' or just something that you can bring to and from college. You also need to budget for a decent RAID firewire drive (for 720P, USB really isn't enough). You also have to get enough RAM.

Also, what about a Windows laptop running Avid?

4. bsamcash macrumors regular

I do it all the time. It works great with iMovie and Final Cut Pro, but gets some hick ups whilst using Adobe Premiere Pro. Just make sure you have at least 4 GB of memory.

5. XxEjGxX macrumors regular

its more then fine, on a speed scale its not too jumpy but the screen can get cramped, but in times like those i just hook up to a nice 30" monitor [​IMG]

6. Habitus macrumors 6502a

Habitus

The 13" MBP does have a video card, actually. Also, a iMac may suit your needs better.

Habitus :apple:

7. macrumorsMaster macrumors 6502

No it doesn't it has integrated graphics. You have to get a 15" to get a video card:cool:

8. danimal99 macrumors regular