Video Editing on Parallels/VMWare/etc.?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by sfs, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. sfs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    Technical question from a new switcher here. I need to run Avid Media Composer on the MBP I'll be ordering tomorrow (unfortunately, I'm out of time to wait for the updates), but it doesn't support Leopard yet. Would one of the solutions for running Windows processes in MacOS be powerful enough to take on a very demanding media suite? Do I need to look into BootCamp or otherwise running WinXP natively? Or is there some solution I'm overlooking, being new to Macs and all?
    Thanks, guys!
     
  2. surferfromuk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    #2
    Vmware Fusion and Parallels support virtulisation so will run on the native hardware - pretty much means a 2.2 ghz core duo MBP is a 2.2ghz core duo PC..

    err..as for a solution - how about Final Cut Pro ?
     
  3. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #3
    VMware will work. It's speed for CPU intensive jobs is not bad (If you have enough RAM for both Mac OS and Windows XP. But VMware's performance on disk intensive applications is not so good. I/O suffers. VMware also can't use the GPU so you don't get t good 3D performance.

    If you need a fast disk and 3D graphic use Bootcamp.

    Would be best to import the project to Final Cut. But it it is already half done yu are stuck.
     
  4. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #4
    Agreed. Use BC, then run the BC partition from VM Ware or Parallels. Both have trial versions. If you need more speed than either can handle, you can boot straight into Windows and it's all right there.
     
  5. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #5
    Boot Camp, VMWare, and XP Pro, ftw!

    Editing video via virtualised Windows seems like you've passed the insanity turn off on the highway, and are headed right for self destruction! ;)

    Boot Camp for the editing, until you've finished the current project. Then delete the partition, buy Final Cut Studio 2, and be far, far happier*.


    *Been there, done that.
     
  6. sfs thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    The school "strongly recommends" using Avid. Is FCS2 that much better?

    BootCamp it is, then. Thanks a lot!
    I may try to install Avid on Leopard before repartitioning, just for kicks.

    ...Say, anyone know where I can get a copy of Tiger on the cheap? Avid says they work with Tiger, and I guess I can delay the move to Leopard until Avid gets around to updating. My guess is they'll release at NAB, which isn't quite far enough away to justify buying another editing suite. Is Leopard worth the extra hassles, or should I try downgrading?

    As always, you guys are the best.
     
  7. wpc33 macrumors 6502

    wpc33

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #7
    If your Mac was shipped with 10.5, I do not believe it can be downgraded. That's what I read in another thread, at least. Supposedly no Mac can be downgraded past stock.

    And from one editor to another, FCS2 is amazing. I know Avid Express through Symphony and I prefer FC by a narrow margin on its own, and a wide margin with the companion ware.

    Most pro studios still base in Avid though, so keep your skills and software as long as you know you ought to.
     
  8. jemeinc macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    South Jersey
    #8
    Yes, FCS2 is that much better- but why fight it? If the school says use Avid, then use Avid.. But definitely use it in Boot Camp...
     

Share This Page