Video editing setup

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Threatnique, Oct 8, 2016.

  1. Threatnique macrumors newbie

    Threatnique

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    #1
    Hi , was wondering what a good setup is for a video editing machine .. I have a 09 4.1 boosted to 5.1 ... Dual quad 3.46ghz

    I got GeForce gtx750 and 8gbram
    And normal hard drives

    This computer can't handle editing.
    Should I boost this more or if I was to get a 2nd setup what would the setup be ...?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    There are few critical info missing.

    1) which software?
    2) which OS
    3) what video size, resolution, format, etc
    4) what you mean "can't handle"

    However, in general, if you want fast respond, a SSD is a must. 8G RAM for current OS is not much, you better go 16G or above. For something like FCPX, AMD card usually work better. A 7950, or 7970 can handle 4K video without issues.

    8 core 3.46 can give you good speed on encoding video, but not necessary the editing part.

    Since you already own a 5,1 and the CPU is not that bad. So I personally will go for some upgrade but not build a new machine. However, if you want singificantly more performance, Hackintosh is the way to go.
     
  3. Threatnique thread starter macrumors newbie

    Threatnique

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    #3
    Thanks for reply ,
    So I want to use davinci resolve , pp and final cut , not at the same time but in general I'll give them a run as I'm new to this. Current OS is Yosemite , I'll upgrade shortly once I get a ssd drive which is something I think is needed , the sm951 seems to be beast and wrote / read speeds seem phnomenial ... I record to a dslr compressed@4k ...

    My system is at the moment

    GeForce gtx 750 2gb - is this good ?
    CPU 2x3.46 6core
    2x8gb 1066 mhzdd3ecc
    2tb Sata hd blah blah .... which needs to die in a hole....

    If money was no issue performance wise what would I upgrade or do ???

    Start another system and keep this as is for music production ?

    Or beef this mofo up ?

    Thanks for your reply
    --- Post Merged, Oct 8, 2016 ---
    I have replied thanks heaps
     
  4. Barry Bishop macrumors member

    Barry Bishop

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    #4
    I do this for a living. Read this to maximize your current setup: http://blog.macsales.com/12247-upgrade-your-06-08-mac-pros-internal-bays-to-sata-3-0

    Adding more rams will help as well. Also just throwing this out there... know yours scopes and get a broadcast monitor osee makes really inexpensive ones. I have 3 different models and they are fantastic.
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    If money is not an issue, and you want Final Cut (I assume you mean the current FCPX). Then I believe a Hackintosh is the way to go. I am quite sure no Mac can match a properly builded Hackintosh's performance in all the software you want.
     
  6. Threatnique thread starter macrumors newbie

    Threatnique

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    #6

    I have a 2009 Mac Pro 4,1 boosted to 5,1
    --- Post Merged, Oct 9, 2016 ---
    But I've already started a hackingtosh right
     
  7. Chung123 macrumors regular

    Chung123

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    I have a 6 core on my 2010 Mac Pro 5,1, 16 gigs of ram and dual 7950 AMD video cards and it cuts 4K footage with no issues in FCPX.
    If you are going to run FCPX, get a video card that supports OPEN CL, upgrade your memory to at least 16gigs and definitely an SSD.
     
  8. Threatnique thread starter macrumors newbie

    Threatnique

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    #8
    If I got one amd would that hold up ?
    Is that the highest 7950 ?
    Because free version of resolve doesn't support multiple gpu
     
  9. Chung123 macrumors regular

    Chung123

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    A single 7950 is pretty awesome. It felt faster than dual 5770's that I had as a setup. Check out some of the results on barefeats.com http://barefeats.com/tube02.html
     
  10. Threatnique thread starter macrumors newbie

    Threatnique

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2016
    #10
    Thanks for the reply , there is not much difference is there if it's dual or single ... according to that link ...

    I read somewhere amds can be a problem getting it to work in a Mac ...?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 9, 2016 ---
    Also is this a Apple gpu ?
    --- Post Merged, Oct 9, 2016 ---
    I've searched for hackintosh builds , is there a build with the list of parts. I would be using fcpx and da Vinci resolve ... are these systems stable btw ?
     

Share This Page