Video Editing Suite Advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by chillined1212, Feb 26, 2014.

1. chillined1212 macrumors member

Hello Mac experts,

I don't know if I am in the right forum, but I am looking for the best advice for creating a video editing "suite".

I'm a teachers aid and student, but I convinced my school to create a Broadcast Journalism class. I co-teach it with a teacher that really has no idea what she is doing. I've held up the class the entire year, but I want to leave her with as much paperwork and advice as possible.

We are looking to create an actual Video Editing classroom. We will be working with iMac's and Final Cut Pro X (it's the easiest software that the kids can learn from and both edit green screen video and add titles as such).

Our goal by next year is to have an entire classroom. As far the the video end goes, I'm all good with that. We have spots for a green screen, backdrops, lighting etc.

What I am looking for is advice on how to go about setting this up. We are looking to get 5-8 iMacs with a minimum of 8gb ram to run and edit Final Cut Pro X. Would Macbook Pros do the job to edit as well? They are a bit cheaper and we will need some to be portable?

My second and biggest kink to figure out is how to go about Data storage. We have a basic 1080p 30FPS camcorder, but they files run pretty big when downloaded.

How can we store and stare the video storage to all the macs? We tried a Airport extreme with the 2tb hard drive but the wifi is counter acting with our wifi already in the building (we are having huge network issues running it as a wifi bridge). We want to be able to pull the video footage from a main device and edit that footage from any one of the Macs?

Basically, what is the best solution to being able to set this up. We have 20,000 budget at the moment, but we are sending the proposal in a month or so.

Please all suggestion or comments will help so much.

2. thats all folks macrumors 6502a