Video file conversion for iphone4

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by deus ex machina, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. deus ex machina macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    #1
    Videos which loaded and play with ease on my family's ipod touches (third and fourth gen) are not so happy with my new verizon iphone. I tried Handbrake and dvdvideosoft with less than spectacular results.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    TIA,
    dao
     
  2. deus ex machina thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
  3. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #3
    Could you be more specific as to what is lacking or not working properly?
     
  4. deus ex machina thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    #4
    Will do.... First, this is on a windows box.

    Video files, mainly cartoons and movies which were transcoded and copied onto the aforementioned ipod touches, do not copy onto the iphone4. Thinking that it might be an issue with the conversion software, I tried a variety of modes in the handbrake and dvdvideosoft. Sadly, neither produced a resultant that could be placed on my iphone via itunes, though they did play perfectly on the computer. Is there an iphone specific codec I might be missing?
     
  5. ihav0frnds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    Does the Windows version of HB have a "iPhone & iPod Touch" preset?
     
  7. Eric374 macrumors 6502

    Eric374

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas
    #7
    Can 't vouch for the Windows version of Handbrake, but the Mac version has an "iPhone 4" preset that I use when converting DVD's into movies to watch on my iPhone 4 and it works flawlessly. I also converted a .avi file to the iPhone 4 preset and it worked flawlessly as well. And I would have never even known about Handbrake if it wasn't for this forum!!
     
  8. deus ex machina thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    #8
    I have regularly used Handbrake, with the updates.

    I got it to work on another win box, so their might be something else going on. Oddly, the "problem" computer has been working fine with all my other ipods.

    go figure.
    Thank you for the replies,
    david
     
  9. neshkito macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    #9
    They should be plenty of ways to do it. Check google and you will be very surprised..
     
  10. APtalent macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
  11. deus ex machina thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    #11
    As per my previous post, it is not the transcoder, but one particular computer with my iphone. I copied .mp4s to another box and the iphone accepted them. A bit of an oddity.

    I apologize for not predicating that I had already checked Google, Mroogle and the search tab.
     
  12. deus ex machina thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    #12
    Incidentally, I have run the itunes diagnostics on the problem computer. it checks out fine.
     
  13. oakie macrumors 6502

    oakie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    seattle
    #13
    try a different USB port?

    odd problem you got there, but good on you for isolating it to the machine.
     

Share This Page