Video lag problem with 2010 mbp on lion

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by exe163, Nov 20, 2011.

  1. exe163 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #1
    Hi, I am having some problem recently with my mbp. I have the 330m 15" version. I did a clean install when lion came out. My system has 8 gigs of ram and SSD as boot drive and 640GB storage drive (disk drive mod). Never had any major problem until recently.

    When ever I try to play starcraft 2, my system would lag down to crawl few minutes into it. I have plenty of free ram, free space on all harddrives and I never had this issue before. I tried restarting my computer with most of the items turned off and the problem still occurs. I am guessing the system is running out of vram but I really don't know why this didn't happen before. Any idea on how to debug or fix the problem?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    Unlikely to be VRAM. More likely to be high temperatures causing the CPU/GPU to throttle back.
     
  3. exe163 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #3
    I have CPU: 72c, GPU: 74c right after I quit starcraft when it starts lagging.

    Normal? Too high? how do I fix it?
     
  4. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #4
    Those temps are perfectly normal, heck they're even on the low side for a MBP used for gaming.
     
  5. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    That's fine.
     
  6. exe163 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #6
    Any idea what else could be the source of the problem?

    Every time after a restart, I can get the game to run smoothly for a minute or so into the game. After the lag occurs, if I try to relaunch the game, it starts the lag at even at the menu. This problem also occurs with my other steam games that ran fine before.

    P.S. Is there a way to check the % of vram used?
     
  7. exe163 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
  8. MagicBoy, Nov 21, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2011

    MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    Not without getting my hands on it.

    I sincerely doubt it's VRAM given that Starcraft 2 runs on the 128MB ATI X1600 from 2006. If it only happens in SC2 then it's likely a software issue. I am not familiar with the game but first steps are to ensure OS X is up to date and the game has the latest patches applied.

    If you get slowdown problems with other games or heavyweight apps then take it into an Apple store for a Genius to have a look at.
     

Share This Page