[Video] MBA running photoshop CS4

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by HelloMikee, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. HelloMikee macrumors 6502a

    HelloMikee

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    11.6" Macbook Air
    2GB Ram
    1.4 GHz
    128 GB

    Doing some sharpening in photoshop. It's actually not that bad. My 13" macbook pro (mid 2009) is faster but for simple on the go edits for blogging purposes, I think I found myself a winner.

    Totally happy since I was really concerned about the limited ram... but I don't plan on having many apps open when using photoshop on here.

    The more and more I use this little guy, the more impressed I am. Apple did it again despite all the naysayers regarding the under powered specs.

    I remember trying to use an HP mini with 4GB ram and gimp. It was a sad experience.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkMR_BnIHYs
     
  2. picar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #2
    It looks very smooth using photoshop in a 1.4ghz machine. I am wondering if the performance depends more on disk speed(SSD) than CPU clock?
     
  3. fuzzielitlpanda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
  4. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Thanks for share...
    The SSD helps a lot!! MacBook Air rocks :D
     
  5. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    Thanks for the youtube. PS was operating a little better then I thought it would. You certainly can see the difference when its disk based, vs processor based. Loading is lightening, but applying a filter, you can see where the under powered CPU comes into play. Still for a small laptop that the MBA is, its really good
     
  6. rhinosrcool macrumors 65816

    rhinosrcool

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Location:
    MN
  7. GeekLawyer macrumors 68020

    GeekLawyer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    The post is coming from inside the house!
    #7
    He used QuickTime.

    That looks great! Quite usable. Nice and smooth!
     
  8. HelloMikee thread starter macrumors 6502a

    HelloMikee

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego
    #8
    Yep, under File --> New Screen Recording :)
     
  9. TheAllStar macrumors member

    TheAllStar

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #9
    Wouldn't it depend the most on RAM? Between the SSD and CPU though, I'm too stupid to know which one would matter more.
     
  10. orpheus1120 macrumors 65816

    orpheus1120

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #10
    Any number crunching depends on CPU. In this video it is adding filter etc. Photoshop uses your hard drive as temporary "swap" space (scratch disk), or virtual memory, when your system does not have enough RAM to perform an operation. Typically you would use a high rpm hard drive as a dedicated SD to counter any slowdown in system. But in the MBA's case, even when ram is low, scratching is done on a SSD which has excellent write speed. In short, CPU, RAM and scratch disk are important in this magnitude. As for choice of GPU, it is not as important.
     
  11. TheAllStar macrumors member

    TheAllStar

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #11
    Thanks. Learning sequence complete.
     
  12. bb147 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #12
    thanks for posting this.. as this is the reason why I ordered a macbook air because my netbook was having problems using the adobe creative suite
     
  13. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  14. WardC macrumors 68030

    WardC

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #14
    Looks pretty good, I don't own CS4, I own Photoshop CS3, and that should run even faster and take up less space on the SSD. I'll be running it on a 1.6GHz 11.6" with 4GB of RAM, still waiting for mine to ship out.
     
  15. ArcAngel66 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #15
    Given that you were using a screen recorder while using photoshop and got those results, I'm impressed.

    Screen Capture software (even Quicktime) is very demanding!
     
  16. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #16
    I wonder if Pixelmator would yield better results as it uses Core Image to offload processing to the GPU.
     
  17. r2fa3l macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    Cs5 works better.... using it at the moment deffo recommend upgrading
     
  18. Burnsey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #18
    I've crippled my MBP to 1GHZ (to reduce heat) and it handles PS just fine (and I'm somewhat of a heavy user).
     
  19. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
  20. hachre macrumors 6502a

    hachre

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #20
    What program do you use to do that?
     
  21. driftmr2 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Location:
    Broomfield, CO
    #21
    Very impressive. I think you just pushed me over the edge. I will be buying one soon!
     
  22. hoobaman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #22
    agreed. i can't be more amazed at how smooth cs5 master collection runs on the air.
     
  23. cheapa55 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #23
    which air do you have? debating whether or not to upgrade CS3 to CS5. I have the 11" 1.4ghz, 2gb ram.
     
  24. dougan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    #24
    If that was real-time (I don't doubt), that seems quite speedy. Thanks for sharing.
     
  25. nidserz macrumors 6502a

    nidserz

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai x Toronto
    #25
    Thanks OP, looks pretty good.
    Just wondering, would having 4GB ram help in this case? Or would 2GB be fine for running photoshop and adium? Probably won't be doing too much intensive stuff on it anyway.
    Thanks.
     

Share This Page