video memory iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by JosephEsquivel, Jul 5, 2007.

  1. JosephEsquivel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    #1
    I plan on getting a 20 in iMac when the new models come out, and if 256 Video memory isnt standard, would 128 be enough to play most games, like WoW smoothly?
     
  2. dartzorichalcos macrumors 65816

    dartzorichalcos

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Location:
    Atlantis
    #2
    Here is an iMac Core Duo with an ATI Radeon Mobility X1600 Gaming Benchmarks. It should give you a feel of what to expect with a 128MB graphics card. Of course the updated iMac will have a better graphics card, so expect better results than the benchmarks even.
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    how soon do u need it>?? wait for the new imacs...way faster gpus :)
     
  4. vendettabass macrumors 6502a

    vendettabass

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    Seoul, South Korea
    #4
    slightly OT, but do we think the new iMacs' graphics card will support 30" dual link displays.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    they already do, kinda of... i.e. imac display plus one other display.... currently the imac only has one dvi-mini port... the gpu would most likely be able to handle 30, whether they actually let it is another story
     
  6. gaelan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    #6

    what gpu are they going to use?
     
  7. MAW macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7


    maybe the 8600m GT?:eek:
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    mmnn thats what the rumor is, im personally hoping for something a lot more powerful but i doubt itl happen. 8600 it could be
     
  9. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #9
    I think the current iMacs use a dsktop chipset, IIRC. Hopefully they will continue with that, even if they underclock it.
     

Share This Page