Video output from iPod Touch (2nd) via a Component AV cable

Discussion in 'iPod touch Accessories' started by MythicFrost, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hi, I've been wanting to be able to output a video from my iPod Touch to my TV, my dad bought this Component AV cable for me while at an Apple authorised reseller.
    Unfortunately the audio doesn't work, I'm sure they are all plugged into the right places. I think a picture would be best.

    At the top left of the image, are what I assume to be the red and white audio ports, highlighted in red. I plugged the audio (red and white) plugs into those ports.
    And towards the bottom are three ports, green, blue and red, also highlighted in red. I plugged the green, blue and red plugs into those ports.

    I changed the input of the TV to Input 2, I see the video for the movie I'm watching on the TV but no audio. I tried two different movies.
    I also tried moving the red and white audio ports into the row of ports just below the green/blue/red row, to see if that made any difference, and it didn't.

    Would appreciate any help, I've never dealt with these green blue and red connections before I don't think, only red white and yellow.

    EDIT: and yes the volume on the TV was on! (lol)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. pilotrtc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #2
    Have you ever gotten audio from those ports from any other device? Maybe a test with a different device to see if those ports are working is in order?
     
  3. IChing macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #3
  4. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    TBH I don't think I have anything that can plug into the TV to test :(
    Fortunately I still have the 16GB 2nd gen model.
    EDIT: tried connecting it again and have had no success: I tried playing with the video settings this time on the iPod.
    I changed it from "Pal" to "NTSC" and back with no change (apart from resolution), I also tried turning Widescreen on and off which did nothing also (apart from make the picture better).

    I tapped the bottom left button and it came up with an option that was selected called ~"Audio Source: English (Stereo)"
     
  5. pilotrtc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    #5
    What about an old VCR for testing purposes? Or any other device that's connected to your TV?

    Also, if you're in the U.S.A., the setting should be "NTSC" not "PAL". Or, at the very least, both devices should match each other, I would think...
     
  6. iRawkMac macrumors newbie

    iRawkMac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    #6
    Those are component AV cables you're using. They are used for HD video.
    The red/blue/green control the picture and the white and red control the audio.

    Is the t.v. you're using HD? And what is the type of receiver you're using? I would check to make sure the audio outputs that go to your speakers/t.v. are connected properly.

    I would also check to make sure the inputs you're plugging the red/green/blue match up with the inputs your putting the red/white cables into. Meaning that they both go to Input 1 or Input 2 etc. They should be labeled on the back of the receiver.

    **Edit** After staring at the picture for a moment, I think that the Red/White that you have highlighted may be Audio Outputs that go to another sound source e.g. surround sound system and there may not be Inputs for the Audio for the Red/Blue/Green cables as it may just be inputs for video and requires you to use an external audio source.
     
  7. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    I've got an Apple TV, which I noticed has the green/blue/red & red and white ports on it, but I don't see what there for? can I plug the pod in and play video / audio through it from the pod? lol
    I'm in Aus, but the TV supports both NTSC and PAL.
    Yeah it's a HD TV, what's a receiver? lol... I think that's a good idea, I'll check the input matches up with where I'm putting it, I don't see any other red/white cables though, maybe I should turn surround sound on and try it...
    I'll be back... leme try some stuff.

    EDIT: Resolved, I tried plugging the red & white audio connectors into the red & white ports just below where the green/blue/red row is. AND IT WORKED! I was sure I tried that though, but anyhoo thanks for your help all!
     

Share This Page