Virgin UK SIM in jailbroken/unlocked 3GS. No internet! HELP!!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ryanfack, Dec 1, 2011.

  1. ryanfack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #1
    I jailbroke and unlocked my iphone 3GS using redsn0w yesterday for a friend to borrow who'd be using a virgin sim and at first seemed fine, but as soon he stepped out the house and lost wifi, no internet! :confused: i had to upgrade my baseband when jailbreaking to ipad baseband, if that would be an issue? He's able to make calls and texts and everything it's just the internet! :confused:

    Any help would be very much appreciated!
     
  2. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #2
    Did you edit the apn settings?:rolleyes: Google if you don't know how.
     
  3. ryanfack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #3
    Don't think so! never heard of apn prior, so very unlikely..
     
  4. ryanfack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #4
    Also been messing around with it for ages now trying to get it to work, taking the sim card out, restoring it etc.. and when re-jailbreaking it and having to activate the phone it is saying, 'Your iPhone could not be activated because the activation server is temporarily unavailable' and goes on to talk about itunes etc.. So as a last resort I thought I'd give ac1dSn0w a try to see if it made a difference but still getting the same message. Now I don't know a lot about this but I very highly doubt apple's servers are down, so does anyone know a way I could get round this or fix it? As the phone can't even be used at all now!

    Any response would be highly appreciated as I am becoming desperate! :(
     
  5. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #5
    What is the firmware version and baseband on your 3GS?
     
  6. ryanfack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #6
    iPad baseband so, 6.15.00. and firmware 5.0.1
     
  7. Sirolway macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Are you sure the SIM is data-enabled? Call Virgin
    Do you have other handsets? Can they use the SIM for Voice? Data?
    Try a differential diagnosis, Dr House!
     
  8. ryanfack, Dec 3, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011

    ryanfack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #8
    Thanks and yes it's been used in a blackberry for the past year and a half and it definitely has internet, however my main issue now is getting the phone working at all! It won't even jailbreak in redsn0w using the latest version. It says 'unrecognised build. Fingerprint: *gives a massive code*'

    Definitely moving in the wrong direction.
     
  9. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #9
    1. When you use redsn0w. Did you point to the firmware OS5? even your phone has 5.0.1, you still need to point at OS5 for it to work.
    2. Even if you jailbreak & unlock your phone with Ultrasn0w. I am not sure if it works because ultrasn0w has not been update to work/compatible with 5.0.1 even it can unlock 06.15 baseband. See dev team blog below for more info;
    http://blog.iphone-dev.org/

    So, I think your best bet right now is to downgrade to any of your previous fw if you have SHSH, then jailbreak & unlock it. If you don't have any SHSH blobs save for this phone, then you can always downgrade it to 4.1 and then jailbreak/unlock it.
     
  10. ryanfack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #10
    Tried that as well but it says 'That IPSW is not supported by this version of redsn0w'

    No I don't have any blobs saved so yeah, downgrading may be my next best option, thanks.

    One more thing just downloaded sn0wbreeze as the latest version of that can jailbreak 5.0.1 as far as I know, but when I open it, it just opens in text edit, any ideas?
     
  11. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #11
    Which Redsn0w version did you use?
     
  12. ryanfack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
  13. ryanfack thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #13
    and noww.. I can't even get it to turn on. Need some serious help!?
     

Share This Page