Virtual Box

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DitchDoc83, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. DitchDoc83, Jul 25, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011

    DitchDoc83 macrumors newbie

    DitchDoc83

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    Alabama
    #1
    Has anyone used VirtualBox on their Macbook Pro to run Windows?

    I'm working in a GIS class and need to run GeoMedia for school. But the only way to run it is on windows. I've never tried running dual OS's on a computer. Any help would be welcomed.

    BTW, I'm running OS X Lion.
     
  2. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #2
    Cant speak for the Lion part yet- haven't tried. But Virtualbox works very well as long as you don't need the invisible integration features that parallels and VMware provide. It supports shared folders though, which was the most important part for me.
     
  3. Mrguidogenio macrumors regular

    Mrguidogenio

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Argentina
    #3
    I have Linux Ubuntu and Windows XP and it works nice. Last time I virtualized Widows I was running SL, so I don't if Lion makes a difference here or not.
     
  4. maril1111 macrumors 68000

    maril1111

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    I just used virtualbox in Lion yesterday, running windows 7, on my late 2011 mbp 8.1 and it is working without any problems whatsoever
     
  5. Mrguidogenio macrumors regular

    Mrguidogenio

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Location:
    Argentina
    #5
    Glad to know :)
     
  6. DitchDoc83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    DitchDoc83

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    Thanks.
     
  7. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    I have tried vmware fusion and virtualbox and haven't really noticed a difference in speed between the two, and virtualbox is free :)

    Windows xp worked really well under SL, can't speak for lion yet tho. I used it all the time to play rollercoaster tycoon and other windows games that couldn't run on a Mac. Should be able to do what you need pretty easily. I found that having at least 4gb of RAM really helps when virtualizing though.
     
  8. Eradik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #8
    I've bounced between trials of VMWare and Parallels, and just found VirtualBox yesterday. It works just as well (for what I do) as the two paid ones.

    The only downside would be gaming, as I've read that it really doesn't do a good job with the biggie 3d games. But I have yet to try it, so I can't comment. I only have Windows for if something comes along during school that I need to use Windows for.

    Make sure you use the new version, 4.1, as I know it fixed a few Lion bugs.

    It's working great here on Lion, A+!
     

Share This Page