iPhone Virtual home issues

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by AndrewR23, Jul 15, 2014.

  1. AndrewR23 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #1
    Recently I noticed my 5S battery was HORRIBLE. Finally realizing that the quick unlock on virtual home is causing it. But...I have that turned off. Yet my phone still unlocks via quick unlock. Disabling it fixes both the issue and battery problem but I love this tweak and Ive been using it since Jan.

    Can anyone see if they have this problem or download virtual home, set quick unlock to off. Turn phone to sleep then just put your finger on the home button. Don't press it. Just keep it on, and if your phone unlocks then its not just me with the problem.

    Thanks!
     
  2. nwmtnbiker macrumors 68000

    nwmtnbiker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Fidalgo Island
    #2
    Nope doesn't do it on my 5s but I have never enabled it. Try uninstalling and deleting plist out of var/mobile/library/preferences and reinstalling?
     
  3. lukejc1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #3
    I have the same issue. Quick unlock works even when disabled in the settings.

    I tried uninstalling and deleting the preference files and it didn't work.
     
  4. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #4
    Wow I am also experiencing this bug. Have you contacted the dev yet?
     
  5. that be me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    #5
    I've noticed this as well. What happens is if you lock your device, the sensor remains on for a few seconds (minutes?) afterwards. This allows you to wake and unlock the device without having to press the wake/sleep button or the home button. Wait about a minute with the quick unlock option off and try it again. It shouldn't unlock the device.

    I wish the battery drain wasn't as severe as it is with quick unlock on, but I don't mind pressing the home button once instead of many times when using my device.
     
  6. AndrewR23 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #6
    Didn't fix it. I know it quicks unlock because it only works with my fingers that are registered. I don't know why mine is doing this but I can no longer use this tweak.
     
  7. tateu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #7
    Yes, but with the quick unlock option disabled, this shouldn't happen and with the entire tweak disabled, it certainly shouldn't happen, but it does.

    I gave up on VirtualHome a long time ago. The delay when touching the sensor before anything happens is just too much for me. I use Activator instead, although it has its own touch id sensor bugs, as well.
     
  8. Ann P, Jul 16, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2014

    Ann P macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Virtual home issues

    Same problem here. Deleted VH for now, awaiting a fix.
     
  9. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #9
    I was the same as you when VH first cane out but after updating to 7.1.2 and trying VH again, I was shocked at how responsive it is now. It still might be too slow for you. Just throwing it out there. Either way, this unlock bug is annoying.
     
  10. AndrewR23 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #10
    Honestly the only way I noticed it is because my battery life got terrible. Its been like 3 months since Ive installed any new tweaks too. So it took me like a good week to figure out it was VH. Uninstalling VH now for 2 days has made my battery life back to normal.

    Whatever happened to VH was probably in the last update. Ive emailed and twittered the dev twice but no response.
     
  11. tateu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #11
    There is a touch id sensor bug in the Activator betas that I have been reporting, with no response, for several months. Every time a new beta of Activator comes out that still hasn't fixed it, I load up VirtualHome with the full intention of running it for a few days to give it a try. I always end up switching back to Activator within 10-20 minutes.
     
  12. nwmtnbiker macrumors 68000

    nwmtnbiker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Fidalgo Island
    #12
    Activator just had a huge update on the bigboss repo yesterday anybody try it out? Anyone using it instead of virtual home?
     
  13. djkasmic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    #13
    I am using itouchsecure to unlock 1password or to paste automatically my password on websites. With virtualhome everything works, so when i have to Type in my password, i touch the fingerprint Sensor ans itouchsecure pastes my password.

    With activator instead of virtualhome, i touch the sensor and activator brings me back to homescreen.

    Thats why i am not using activator for touch.
     
  14. nwmtnbiker macrumors 68000

    nwmtnbiker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Fidalgo Island
    #14
    Ah ok so I'm just using VH for the home button but when I tried activator last month it didn't work. It's now working on your 5s? Are you using the beta repo or bigboss?

    Thanks for the reply!
     
  15. alice04 macrumors regular

    alice04

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    #15
    Did you try it? pls let us know for any updates :)
     
  16. nwmtnbiker macrumors 68000

    nwmtnbiker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Fidalgo Island
    #16
    I used it on 7.0.6 instead of VH but haven't tried Activator on 7.1.2 cause I heard it was super buggy and the virtual home button didn't work.

    To follow up your post are you saying it works flawlessly#?
     
  17. djkasmic, Jul 29, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2014

    djkasmic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    #17
    Virtual home issues

    @nwmtnbiker: activator is running since pangu came out. Only issues I had, was the thing with touch-id.

    But I didn't try the newest version rc4. I am on rc3 from beta-repo.
     
  18. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #18
    I am still using VH over Activator because like the other poster, I also use iTouchSecure (honestly everyone with a 5s needs this tweak!). VH and iTouchSecure work flawlessly together.

    As an aside, I found a temporary workaround to the lock screen VH unlock situation. In activator, I set LockScreen>Locked device to disable VH and Anywhere>Unlock device to enable VH. This is a temporary fix until the VH dev updates it. This works perfectly.
     
  19. AndrewR23 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #19
    Ty :) this worked.
     
  20. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #20
    You're welcome. I meant to post this a little while back but forgot. Glad it's working for you.
     

Share This Page