Virtual Machine on remote computer doesn't recognize keyboard

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Goldbricker83, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. Goldbricker83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #1
    I am using Apple Remote Desktop to control a Mac OS X Snow Leopard system with a Mac OS X Snow Leopard system. On the computer being controlled, I launch Windows 7 through Parallels Desktop Mac version 6. Once the VM is launched, for some reason it doesn't seem to recognize the keyboard as it will not allow me to Ctrl-Alt-Delete. I can use Ctrl-Alt-Delete through the keyboard menu, but I cannot enter in my Windows password. Any idea why it won't recognize the keyboard from the computer remotely controlling it and if there's anything I can do about it? Thanks.
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    I'd imagine it has something to do with running a VM remotely. I don't know the technical reasons why your keyboard isn't working, but it's not a stretch of imagination to think that this wouldn't work to begin with.
     
  3. Goldbricker83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #3
    Note: Only the login screen

    One thing to note is that if the Windows VM is logged in, then it recognizes my keyboard. I have been able to type into the VM via remote desktop in the past, if it is not logged out. It only seems to be the login screen that doesn't respond.
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Humm, well that certainly makes it more interesting (and that much more annoying...). Is this the first time you've done this?
     
  5. Goldbricker83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #5
    Well, I've used the VM before from my remote computer, but I've never been able to login to it.

    I used VMWare Fusion for Windows XP, but when my company upgraded to Windows 7 we went with Parallels, which has always had this annoying problem when I try to work from home. I need to get into it because I have to use PowerPoint 07 on Windows, my copy of PowerPoint for Mac doesn't seem to be recognizing the macros in the file. It sucks being the lone Mac user in a Windows-dominated work environment sometimes.

    Perhaps I should try Parallels support for this, I thought maybe I was just missing a simple setting here. I'm afraid they are just going to tell me it's a Remote Desktop problem, and I don't know what kind of support I can get for ARD. I've tried searching Google, but it seems like I'm the only one who has this problem.
     
  6. bmcgonag macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    Many times there are specific settings that allow for typing at the login screen through a virtual connection. This is usually something that has to be running as a windows service, and often is only allowed for an administrator level login. I would imagine the single separation of VNC through to mac from mac, and using a VM for windows is the same deal. It sees the keyboard as a remote keyboard regardless.

    Let me suggest TeamViewer. Install it on your Mac, the VM, and the other mac. in the Windows VM, set it to start with windows, and in the 'options' set it to allow login screen. This might solve your problem. Kind of a work around, but I love TeamViewer, it works well for me.
     

Share This Page