Virtual memory size

Discussion in 'macOS' started by arkmannj, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. arkmannj macrumors 65816

    arkmannj

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #1
    I might just be me, but I think my virtual memory size went up a ton with Leopard. with only Safari and Activity viewer open by VM size is 43GB !

    yet I have almost 900MB of memory free.


    2.4Ghz Mac Book Pro 2GB ram
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Ditto and my inactive is tiny but my free is huge. 0 page outs.:confused:
     
  4. arkmannj thread starter macrumors 65816

    arkmannj

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #4

    Page ins 2.79 GB
    Page outs: 304.00 KB
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    I don't think there's any reason to worry about your virtual memory allocation then.
     
  6. arkmannj thread starter macrumors 65816

    arkmannj

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #6
    thanks. but does that mean that it is actually using 43GB on the hard disk ?
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    It's an allocation not the current real usage.
     
  8. arkmannj thread starter macrumors 65816

    arkmannj

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #8
    Thank you, sorry one more dumb question, would the "Swap used" be the actual amount of that allocation that is used then ?
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    I don't have any experience with the changes to Activity Monitor in Leopard but that does sound right.
     
  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #10
    VM is growing. Now 50+gig. something is scwey, doc.
     
  11. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #11
    Folks are going to find out soon the way Leopard uses virtual memory and swapping is "unique"..;)
     
  12. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #12
    this might be key to the stuttering I am seeing in dashboard and expose.

    After a couple hours of use including bringing big apps in and out.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    This is going to be fun.

    Maybe I should just read the documentation instead of waiting for Leopard. :rolleyes:
     
  14. arkmannj thread starter macrumors 65816

    arkmannj

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #14
    I think you are saying "unique" just like my mom used to say "special" :eek: lol
     
  15. logotype macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #15
    Virtual memory in Leopard

    Same problem for me, Leopard allocates 32GB VM (just running Safari since reboot).
    Upgraded, not a clean install though.
     
  16. arkmannj thread starter macrumors 65816

    arkmannj

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    UT
    #16
    Guess I should mention I did the default upgrade install.
     
  17. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #17
    Picture 2.png


    As i write this it is only 74 GBs
     
  18. Eluzion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #18
    I did a clean install.

    VM size is currently 45gb. Interesting. Wonder if this is just a bug in how it's retrieving the VM info or if they actually changed something "under the hood".
     
  19. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #19
    It is strange as I don't have that much free disk space!
     
  20. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #20
    I wouldn't worry about it.It's not really using disk space like you *cough* *ZFS* *cough* think.

    This post is *cough* *read-only* *cough*
     
  21. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #21
    Well my VM size was 5x my free disk space and currently it is only 2.5x

    See this thread where some people have explained how it works
     
  22. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #22
    Ah! *cough* ;) nudge nudge wink wink say-no-more...
     
  23. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #23
    Thanks. That helped a lot. It is curious that Leopard is so much bigger than Tiger. It seems all apps have balloned in their allocations. Must be something in the system calls...
     

Share This Page