Virtual memory

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Neiloid, Oct 20, 2012.

  1. Neiloid, Oct 20, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2012

    Neiloid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Location:
    Hants, UK
    #1
    Another day, another question.

    Yesterday I ordered 2x4GB of RAM and today it arrived ! So I've got it installed and all is good but do I need to increase the virtual memory as is recommended with PCs to 1.5 times the RAM installed ?

    If it does need to be increased how is it increased?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    You don't need to do anything. OS X will increase it on its own after it detects the memory upgrade. You are good to go.
     
  3. Neiloid thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Location:
    Hants, UK

Share This Page