Virtualizing your BootCamp Partition - Activation Issues

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by in-ten-city, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. in-ten-city macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #1
    Has anyone ran into problems with activation of windows OS when trying to virtualize their bootcamp windows partition? If so - how can one solve these problems and have windows activated both when running natively through bootcamp and when running in vmware/parallels virtualization environment? :confused:

    whenever you switch between using windows in bootcamp and using the VM windows wants you to reactivate due to recognition of different hardware running the machine! it is an endless chain of confusion.:confused: someone please clarify
     
  2. in-ten-city thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
  3. bitninja macrumors regular

    bitninja

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    #3
    Technically you're supposed to have a separate license for each one. One license for the native Boot Camp installation, and one license for the virtualized version. There is no way to keep it activated between multiple "hardware configurations" because it believes that you are literally fooling around with the guts of the system.
     
  4. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Are you using Parallels or VM Ware? If you are using both on the same bootcamp partition then that will cause problems.

    I know parallels handles this well. I ran it fine with no issues on version 2.

    Not sure about VM Ware but i'm sure they have made it a non issue. The respective sites and forums will give you a better answer as to how to fix it!
     
  5. maccanuck2006 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Canada
    #5
    I have the same issue. Whenever I try and virtualize my Bootcamp Win XP I am prompted to reenter another activation number. I have essentially given up and just reboot into windows.

    I'm using Parallels 3.0 with the latest build and Bootcamp 1.4 on a SR MBP
     
  6. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  7. LMO macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #7
    Not true. As long as they both run on the same physical computer only one is required. You will have to activate each copy, which may require a phone call to explain what you are doing.
     
  8. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #8
    I had to activate twice, but its GTG.

    First you have to install boot camp & Windows XP. Do Not activate yet.

    Install VM Ware and Virtuilize your Boot camp partition. Install the VM ware tool set - it automatically DL's.

    Then Activate windows within VMWare. NOT BOOTCAMP.

    Restart into windows via bootcamp. You will have to activate again. (You may have to call MS, just tell them you formatted and reinstalled or something - they will autorize)

    Now you are GTG. You will not need to activate anymore in either Boot Camp, or VM Ware.

    Dont know if this works with parallels, but I assume it does. The only reason I know this works for sure is because the VM Ware tools prevents windows from thinking significant hardware changes are made each time windows is virtualized.
     
  9. in-ten-city thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    #9
    thanks , this seems pretty straightforward . does anyone know if this solution works in parallels?
     

Share This Page