Virus Protection for 10.5.8 on G5

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Davy.Shalom, Jul 14, 2010.

1. Davy.Shalom macrumors 6502

Davy.Shalom

So I was thinking...as Leopard gets older and Apple eventually stops updating the security features, will there be more need to go out and buy a program like Norton Antivirus for mac? We mac users take pride in NOT having to have antivirus programs like the PC market, but is it advisable?

I'm wondering if I should buy Norton for mac (only $50, which I thought was reasonable,) to install on my PM G5. What are your guys' thoughts?

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

3. Sky Blue Guest

Sky Blue

no

4. old-wiz macrumors G3

There are no viruses in the wild that impact current OSx. The important thing to do is not install software you don't trust such as programs from dodgy sites. I've been running OSx since 2004 with no antivirus and have had no problems.

5. Acsom macrumors regular

Tab napping.

Now see, I just read this on another forum, which prompted my visit here to look. The writer is a reasonably savvy guy. Note that it took a full manual overnight scan, Norton didn't prevent the attack.

And now there is "tab napping", which crosses all platforms:

Beware of "tab napping attacks...

The scary thing about tab napping is that takes advantage of the user's false sense of security, in knowing he/she is immune; as we all know, AV programs will prevent stealth attacks, but are useless if you open the door and invite the attacker in.

First line of defense: constant awareness and vigilance.
    Second line of defense: Mac, or up to date AV on Windows.
    Third and all other lines of defense: constant awareness and vigilance.

6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

No antivirus protects against user failures. Trojans can easily be prevented on a Mac by paying attention and being careful when you install anything, especially being careful when you enter your admin password.