Virus situation and questions...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SnowLeopard2008, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #1
    Let's say you have this hypothetical situation:

    A person runs an program (that would put a virus on a XP/Vista PC) on a Windows 7 (important) PC. Would the virus still be attached to the computer if it didn't 'fully' run? For instance due to the compatibility issues between XP/Vista and Windows 7, the program turns up an error and a missing file dialog. Would the PC still be infected with the virus?


    The reason I ask is because my friend ran into this situation and he wants to know if his PC is infected with the virus. He ran Windows Defender and everything seemed okay.


    EDIT: MY friend just told me an additional bit of info. He ran the program from his USB drive.
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    It may be, it just depends on what it was able to accomplish before the error.
     
  3. SnowLeopard2008 thread starter macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #3

    Yea, but before I got and install some free anti-virus software on his PC, what else can I do to make sure it's not infected?
     
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    All you can ever really do is scan with antivirus and anti-spyware, both should be running anyway.
     
  5. SnowLeopard2008 thread starter macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #5
    Okay, thanks! I'm going to go ahead and and scan his system.
     
  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    Some virus / worms on windows run via rootkit which cannot be detected by many anti-virus software.
     
  7. SnowLeopard2008 thread starter macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #7

    Really? Thanks for the info though. I wiped my friend's system and put back Vista. He apparently had some problems with installing Norton on Windows 7.
     
  8. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
  9. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #9
    Norton sucks horribly even on Windows, though. It's worse than a virus if I said so myself.

    Use a free alternative, such as Avast!, you will have a much better experience. If you really want to pay money because it makes you feel safer for some reason, NOD32 is awesome, as well.
     
  10. bartzilla macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #10
    That's your problem. You need to be running a real virus scanner on Windows, not a Symantec revenue generating service.
     

Share This Page