Visited "mac2sell.net" and My WhiteBook Froze

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by tayloralmond, May 25, 2009.

  1. tayloralmond macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #1
    Someone in another thread mentioned the website "mac2sell.net" for checking the worth of an old mac. I thought I'd just jump on there just for fun and when I got there, my whole computer just froze. I could still move my cursor, but everything else was locked. I thought it was just a fluke, so I restarted my WhiteBook and tried it all over just to receive the same outcome. There was a flash based advertisement on the top of the page both times it locked up (an HP ad I think). Anyone have any idea what may have caused this?
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Works fine for me. What browser are you using? I am using Firefox 3.5b4 and I tried it with Safar 4.0b as well and no problems.

    This is just a situation with your computer alone, can't really say what would have caused it. I recommend trying another browser to view the site.
     
  3. tayloralmond thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #3
    I just downloaded the latest version of Flash and it hasn't locked up since. I also tried it on Safari 3.2.3 and it didn't have any issues. I'm currently running Firefox 3.0.10. Hopefully, it was just a bug within Flash.
     
  4. secondfox macrumors member

    secondfox

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    #4
    You just discovered the first Mac virus. :(

    Better hide your computer and say it never happened. :)
     
  5. Unprocessed1 macrumors 65816

    Unprocessed1

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    #5
    It was giving you a subtle hint to sell them your glitchy macbook :p
     
  6. gertruded macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Northwestern Illinois
    #6
    I have the same early 2009 white macbook with the Nvidia chip. I noticed that you have 4gb of 667 ram. For information and for others with this model, I put in 4gb of 800 mh ram and it worked, that is, it ran at 800 mh. I also installed the 320gb 7200 HD. Purchased mine as a refurb.

    Mine did not lock up on this site.

    This machine is one fast Macbook for much less money.
     

Share This Page