Vista 64 bit

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by dimme, Apr 10, 2008.

  1. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #1
    I have read that Boot Camp supports Vista 64 with the new Power Macs (early 2008). Has anyone tried this and does it work well. I want to go 64 bit and would like full compatibly.
     
  2. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #2
    I've done it on a MacBook Air, Santa Rosa MacBook Pro, and the first Core 2 Duo MacBooks. All of them works, just needed the drivers from the MacPro disk (or macbook air).
     
  3. wgilles macrumors 6502

    wgilles

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #3
    I know it works on Mac Pros and MacBook Pros (early 2008 models)
     
  4. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    No problems with Vista x64 on any 2008 models.
     
  5. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5
    It works on the MBP's!? I thought the 64-bit drivers for the MP's were specific to the MP's only. Damnit...guess I'll be reinstalling Vista (this time with x64 bit of course).

    The MBP's don't ship with x64 drivers though right? Am I going to have to retrieve a MP install disc? (for those of you reading my sig and wondering, yes I do plan on getting 4 gigs of ram later).
     
  6. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I thought the x64 drivers are included on the MBP install disks too . . . could be wrong though.
     
  7. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #7
    When I pop in my install DVD and open the Boot Camp installer, it says build 2.0 on it. Is this the newest?
     
  8. r-gordon-7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #8
    Any word on when Parallels might be supporting 64 bit?

    Oh - and if the 64 bit drivers aren't on the install disc, can they be installed via a download?

    Thanks,
    r-gordon-7
     
  9. MBX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #9
    /BUMP

    interested in this too.

    I'm surprised Apple hasn't made an easier way for '07 Mac's to run Vista-64. Any suggestions highly apperciated, still.
     
  10. shoolie macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #10
    I'd also like to know if its possible to use the MB install disc for my new iMac to get the boot camp drivers.
     
  11. shoolie macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #11
    I finally was able to install bootcamp on my new iMac using vista home premium 64-bit. You need to download the macbook pro drivers, install bootcamp, then run the bcvista64 update from apples website. So far everything has worked on my iMac including all keyboard functions, the remote, sound card etc.
     
  12. MBX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #12
    As far as i know there should be no problems installing Vista-64 on a new mac if it's this years model. Or are the imacs excluded?

    I wish this would work on the '07 models
     
  13. shoolie macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #13
    Yes iMacs are excluded even the new '08 models, mine is the brand new 3.06 ghz model.
     
  14. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #14
    I have it running on my Mac Pro '08, and all seems well.

    I didn't know iMacs were excluded for 64-bitness! Any reasons listed?
     
  15. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #15
    It is likely more a case of Apple not including the Vista 64-bit drivers on the OS X restore discs for non-Pro models then the hardware not actually being able to run it.
     
  16. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #16
    Boot Camp drivers for my MacBook Air contains x64 drivers. You have to go into the disk to install it and not just double click "install.exe"
     
  17. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #17
    I do believe the bootcamp 2.1 update should work. You just need to download the file, put it on a USB flash stick, restart into Windows, and apply the drivers. When I installed it in Vista 32-bit, it looked like it had all the drivers for my Macbook Pro, just updated ones from the Leopard DVD.
     
  18. CWallace macrumors 601

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #18
    I found the BootCamp 2.1 update - XP or Vista - would not work unless I had first installed the drivers from the OS X disc. In other words, I could not just apply the drivers directly from the update package as the only driver install.
     
  19. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #19
    Hence why it's called an "update".
     
  20. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #20
    Usually when it comes to drivers, you don't need to have an older set installed to install drivers labeled as an "update." It sounds like the only thing preventing you from using the drivers is Apple's own installer package.
     

Share This Page