VISTA 64 not supported by iTunes/iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by EnderTW, Jun 30, 2007.

  1. EnderTW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #1
    I have Windows Vista 64 Bit Enterprise.

    I installed iTunes 7.3 from Apple site.

    Plugged in iPhone

    Nothing happens.

    Open iTunes and it says "Software required for iPhone is not installed. Run the iTunes installer to remove iTunes, then install iTunes again."

    I reinstalled multiple times.

    PLEASE SOMEONE HELP!
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  3. EnderTW thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #3
    You are kidding me?

    Omg.

    Am I the only person with 64 bit windows?
     
  4. appleii2mac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #4
    Maybe you could run Vista 32 bit in a VM or something?
     
  5. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #5
    That's unbelievable.

    Especially with everyone trying to push 64 bit computing forward, Apple don't support it with their iPhone?

    Is it possible to install iTunes as a 32 bit application under Vista 64 bit? Or is it installed as that already?
     
  6. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #6
    64 bit Windows has always been buggier and less compatible than the 32 bit version, which is why its great that OSX doesn't have multiple versions.
     
  7. gfabbott macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #7
    VISTA 64 not supported by iTunes/iPhone

    I picked up two iPhones last night but iTunes not support iPhone under VISTA 64. I suppose this means that there is no VISTA 64 driver provided for the iPhone. Does anyone of know of a work around? Thanks... gerry
     
  8. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    You could run XP/Vista 32bit in a virtual machine...
     
  9. gfabbott macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #9
    Virtual machine

    How would one do that?

    Will VISTA let you install the 32 and 64 bit versions from the same software license on a single PC?
     
  10. coreynuro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #10
    I'm running xp x64 as well and cant do anything with my phone right now. apple needs to get a fix out for this ASAP or they are going to have a pretty good number of pissed off customers
     
  11. EnderTW thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #11
    iPhone no 64bit support!

    Apple you have seriously took a HUGE STEP Backwards in terms of technology. As a power user, I use all 4 gigs of my ram... really disappointed!
     
  12. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #12
    You do know that a 32 bit OS/machine can support 4gb of RAM, right? :rolleyes:
     
  13. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #13
    I don't see how Apple "took a HUGE STEP Backwards in terms of technology" by not supporting 64-bit versions of windows at the moment.

    1) Its a driver thing, they'll cross that bridge when they come to it
    2) What benefit does 64-bit computing have for the general consumer right now? Even "power user's" don't really use the 64-bit functionality unless they are into really heavy SMP stuff or want to address more than 4GB's of RAM.
    3) How many people actually HAVE the 64-bit version of windows?

    Apple has in-fact taken A HUGE LEAP in technology by coming out with the iPhone. Whether it succeeds or fails, it will definitely shape and be a template for all smart phones that come after it.
     
  14. DanB91 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #14
    right click on itunes and go to properties, then go to compatibility and check off windows xp, see if that works
     
  15. dgdosen macrumors 65816

    dgdosen

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #15
    Garbage

    I think as users start to buy any new pc's they'll be 64 bit. I think this is just Apple dragging their heels - looking for more fodder to make fun of Microsoft..

    Posted that first bit with the phone -- I can also think this is a bit of Apple giving MS a taste of their own medicine - "It's not finished until Vista is broken" Given the way Apple talks about MS, I wouldn't put it past them.

    Regardless - I'm committed to 64 bit Windows - and I wish Apple would do the same.
     
  16. marksman macrumors 603

    marksman

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #16
    This is very sucktastic. Hopefully they will fix this soon.

    I spent 2 plus hours messing with this last night.

    Fortunately I finally gave up and synched on my laptop.

    But they need to fix this sooner rather than later.
     
  17. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #17
    That first bit is true, because virtually ALL new PC's being bought right now support 64-bit BUT they only come with the 32-bit versions of windows. Honestly, if you're talking about now probably only 1% of the consumer windows user base uses 64-bit. Apple does support 64-bit. Sort off, Tiger has some 64-bit extensions to be able to address more than 4GB's of RAM as well as being able to compile and run 64-bit unix programs. The only thing that is not 64-bit currently is its aqua interface which will change with Leopard. Why should Apple be committed to 64-bit Windows if Microsoft themselves aren't? If they were really serious about it, they would have made VISTA 64-bit ONLY. But then again lots of hardware vendors would complain now won't they because then they'd have to start developing 64-bit versions of drivers, and people would be even more pissed off because their old hardware will not have 64-bit drivers.
     
  18. bjmpdx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #18
    64-bit Vista & iTunes

    Not sure why... I have read the BLOGs, but I have Vista Home Premium 64-bit and iTunes is operating fine... with only one exception. When I plug in the iPod I will occasionally get Blue Screen and need to reboot. Yea, this is a pain, but since I know about this it is not that big of an inconvenience for now... waiting for 64-bit drivers from Apple.
     
  19. jg2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #19
    doesn't sound like a surprise to me, i think you'll find most of Microsofts OWN products won't work with Vista. genuises.
     
  20. pr5owner macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #20
    Apple's own products dont work with each other as well.

    notice you need min 10.4.10? what about the 10.3.9 users? oh they have to pay $120 to get their phone to work ontop of the $600.

    no phone in history requires you to pay for an upgrade to your OS to get it to work.
     
  21. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #21
    What's the penetration rate of all 64-bit Windows versions for home users? Maybe... 0.05%?

    Apple should support it. But it's not like you can go to the store right now and buy anything you want and expect it to work in 64-bit Windows... not all that much does work in it.

    In terms of the "everyone will go out and get 64-bit computers" line of reasoning... how long have 64-bit OSes and processors existed? 64-bit Unix variants came out ... what... about 12 or 13 years ago? The G5s had 64-bit processing (in certain aspects of Darwin) how long ago? And XP-64 has existed for how long? And who is stampeding out to migrate to it?
     
  22. jg2000 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #22
    are you KIDDING ME? 10.4 has been out for forever, it wasn't released just for iPhone. any TRUE mac user upgrades the OS when new versions come out. Everyone had plenty of time to save their pennies for that upgrade, no sympathy here, it should be a lesson learned.
     
  23. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #23
    Yes. :rolleyes:

    Not 32-bit Windows. But 32-bit Mac OS X and 32-bit Linux work with 4GB of RAM just fine. :p
     
  24. pr5owner macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #24
    do you think ALL mac users are up todate with technology? ALOT of mac users are still using 10.3.x because they simply dont wish to pay over $100USD to get a new os that does nothing for them, those people can do everything they NEED to with their current OS.

    i agree that the avg MAC power user will upgrade right away (i work in tech support and the tech that called me once said he upgraded all his mac's within 10 mins of 10.4.9 comming out, too bad for him 10.4.9 had compatibility issues with the software he was using)

    it was said approx 25% of users still use 10.3.x

    apple is forcing money out of your pockets, not all people will just look the other way
     
  25. pr5owner macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #25

    yeah like the Zune, its a microsoft MP3 player yet doesnt support microsoft's OWN media protocol? (MTP)
     

Share This Page