Vista 64bit, bootcamp 2.1

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by chunghoyin, Jun 7, 2008.

  1. chunghoyin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #1
    I have installed Windows Vista 64bit on my mac, The driver in the leopard disc is not working (Its 2.0), What can I do to get Bootcamp 2.1 so that I have the driver of my computer ? HELP ME
     
  2. LiquidSpikes macrumors regular

    LiquidSpikes

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    #2
    Had the same issue...just need the right files...

    Hello chunghoyin,

    I had the same problem, I have the macbook pro (Santa Rosa mid 2007 model).

    you need to some how get a copy of the drivers used on the LATEST MacBook pro or Macpro CD.

    your leopard disk only has 32bit drivers sadly.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1846

    This article says that only the latest hardware supports Vista 64bit....

    * MacPro (Early 2008)
    * MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2008)
    * MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2008)

    but honestly its just because the x64 drivers only ship with the latest models restore CDs...

    you can get a torrent of the CDs online....or order them from apple...

    just google "Apple BootCamp 2.0 Drivers (including new 64bit-drivers)"
    should be the first link from thepiratebay

    good luck!!! :D
     
  3. chunghoyin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
  4. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
  5. gyumilly macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #5
    Dig around here. I saw a rapid share link for Mac Pro drivers and you can use it on your mac. I installed Vista Ultimate 64 bit with SP1 on my macbook SR (via Bootcamp).
     
  6. Tomi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Mancunia
    #6
    Liquidspikes, detailed help please!

    Liquidspikes, you could save my life. I too have a mid 2007 Santa Rosa Macbook Pro and am desparate to squeeze as much juice from my 4gb of Ram when running Autocad - I'm having crashes with my beautifully crafted 3D model. Half a years work is close to being useless!

    Please can you provide me with detailed info on how to install Vista 64-bit. I'm presuming you're saying I need the new drivers that came with the 2008 models, but surely some drivers will be different? Isn't the trackpad, keyboard, and chipset different? Will I need to find these drivers separately?

    Also what is the process for installing? With my XP 32-bit the Apple CD just did everything automatically. Will I lose functionality in anything?
     
  7. LiquidSpikes macrumors regular

    LiquidSpikes

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Everett, WA
    #7
    Hello Tomi!
    Sorry for the late response! I just finally saw this post..

    First the Apple only supports Vista X64 on their latest Mac Pros (Clovertown) and MacBooks (Penryn) however. For some unknown reason they don't "support" X64 on older Mac Pros and MacBook pros that are capable of running it (the are no hardware differences between the Penryn and Santa Rosa MacBooks outside of the processor core and little more graphics memory). really... that's all...

    So all the drivers work great, iSight and all.

    So the steps are,

    Install Windows Vista x64
    Find and install BootCamp 2.0* not the one on the Leopard disk its going to be on the MacPro 2008 recovery disk and Macbook Pro 2008 recovery disks...
    ... or on the web somewhere... I cannot provide links but I can say its pretty easy to find. ;)

    run the original BootCamp64.exe file. It might complain about not finding support files, just ignore the warning and proceed with the install. After that install is complete, reboot the machine.

    Once Windows is back up run the Boot Camp 2.1 update you can download it off Apple's site. This should get all your drivers except the Atheros wireless card. You'll have to get this one manually, I used these drivers from

    http://forums.laptopvideo2go.com/topic/15297-atheros-modded-driver-for-windws-7-vista-and-winxp/

    No problems so far...

    Also you might want to upgrade to the latest Nvidia drivers from http://laptopvideo2go.com/

    If you have any problems let me know :cool:
     
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    I agree with everything here, except using laptopvideo2go.com Just get Nvidia driver from the official Nvidia site if possible.
     
  9. Tomi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Mancunia
    #9
    Thank you!

    It is a bit late - I had to compromise the 3D model - but it all worked out and I got a first class degree! Hopefully, others will come across this post and go on to install 64-bit on their mid 2007 models.

    It's an awkward thing, not having Autocad running natively, but that's another thread, and it's great to know I can now squeeze the full 4GB out of my memory. Thanks Liquid Spikes!
     
  10. motoko2030 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #10
    I have an early 2008 Mac Pro with 4GBs of RAM; I am thinking of installing Vista 64-bit on a second hard drive in my Mac Pro.

    The question is that should I go ahead and purchase Vista Ultimate with Service Pack 1 or try to find a copy of the old Vista Ultimate without Service Pack 1 then install Service Pack 1 through Windows Updates.

    I have heard people saying that both ways are the best even for an early 2008 Mac Pro model.
     
  11. fhall1 macrumors 68030

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    NY State of mind
  12. motoko2030 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    #12
    I am going to use it to play PC games and also use it for my job where the software is only capable of running inside XP and Vista.
     

Share This Page