Vista 64Bit

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by XSF, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. XSF macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #1
    Did apple ever say if they're working on it? iPhone doesn't work with the 64bit os and I'm starting to wonder if they'll ever support it.
     
  2. Jocko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #2
    With 64-bit Vista, I would imagine the iPhone is just one item on a long list of things you don't have support for. No matter what hardware I had, I would always go with the 32-bit version. As if it wasn't bad enough that the poor driver developers have to write and support two different drivers, M$ made the driver signing requirements for the 64-bit version of Vista much more strict. All of this makes writing 64-bit Windows drivers less appealing for companies.
     
  3. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    This driver signing requirement will also make windows more stable. A lot of windows instability is caused by shoddy drivers. Now those shoddy drivers won't be allowed to install.

    To the OP: You could do what i've done and install XP 32 (or Vista 32) onto virtual machine with VMWare or parallels for windows. This is assuming of course you have a spare license lying around (which thankfully i do).

    You can then redirect the iPod to sync with itunes in this virtual machine. This will also let you use older un supported programs and hardware while running in vista 64. Not very elegant but it works for me.

    (Funny side note... XP running in a virtual machine in Vista was actually faster than the Vista it was running on)
     
  4. appleii2mac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #4
    It would be nice to get a "we're working on it" response from apple though. While doing it through vmware is possible, it is not the best solution. Plus I end up itunes in my 64 bit environment (for my nano) and the 32 bit vm. All in all, quite lame.

    I can understand the problems for a small company in getting 64 bit drivers working, but I don't think apple suffers from a lack of available resources.

    Although some of the blame can undoubtedly go to MS as well. I shouldn't have to choose between decent driver support OR 4+ GB RAM support in this day and age.
     
  5. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    Microsoft is still their competition and they are trying to further the idea that 64-bit windows is not as compatible as the 32-bit version by not releasing the drivers needed.

    This way they can say that that have an easy to use 64-bit OS (leopard) while Vista is still stuck in the dark ages.
     
  6. appleii2mac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #6
    They could still say that if they had 64 bit drivers for the iPhone. Now we can just say that Apple can't write 64 bit drivers.

    Considering I paid $600 for the damn thing, I think a set of 64 bit drivers isn't too much to ask.
     
  7. hard-case macrumors regular

    hard-case

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #7
    Like the old saying goes, hold not thy breath. For example, the driver to fix the problem on 64-bit systems of itunes complaining about improper installation and inability to read/burn CDs has been around for almost a year now. Apple isn't putting it into iTunes, and there've been at least three or four posts in the last week on the Apple support forums about the issue. They just don't seem interested in the issue, and most people in the support forums believe it is due to the 64-bit install base being so tiny.

    Nor if I understand it, is Leopard going to make any difference in this. IIRC, the universal binary system OS X uses is capable of handing the whole shebang natively, so there won't even be a need to update iTunes for 64-bit support, when it will run just fine on a 64-bit Mac running Leopard.
     
  8. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    iTunes works fine on Windows x64 too. The problem is the lack of 64-bit drivers for the iPod. Leopard needs 64-bit drivers for the iPod too. However they have been working on these for a long time since they've had 64-bit since back when the G5 came out.
     
  9. hard-case macrumors regular

    hard-case

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #9
    Yeah, I should have been more clear, in that updating iTunes for 64-bit was more about writing and packing in the drivers necessary. :)

    They've had 64-bit processors, yes, but I was unaware that OS-X was working as 64-bit operating system, aside from certain portions, so that there was never a need to write a 64-bit version of iTunes or drivers. And my understanding of Leopard is that the architecture will, unlike Windows, not require emulation and thus will be able to natively utilize 32-bit drivers even on a 64-bit system. Considering the benefits of a 64-bit architechure aren't going to be maximized in this particular situation, and lacking a concise need, I don't see 64-bit drivers (even for Leopard) as a major consideration for the Apple dev team.

    Push comes to shove, my guess is they'd just toss their hands up and blame Microsoft for not providing 32-bit driver support in x64/Vista. And they wouldn't be entirely wrong in that position, either.
     
  10. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    Drivers for 64bit OS have to be 64bit. This is a limitation of the chip itself not the OS. How easy it is to convert them is the problem. It seems to be easier on OSX (and linux) than Windows.
     
  11. hard-case macrumors regular

    hard-case

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #11
    Driver's are handled by the OS, though, so theoretically they could develop methods in the kernel to handle 32-bit device drivers....and everything I've read on Leopard says it will work just fine with them:

    http://www.theinquirer.net/en/inquirer/news/2006/08/14/64-bit-leopard-knocks-spots-off-vista
    http://www.engadget.com/2007/06/12/fret-not-64-bit-leopard-will-still-work-with-your-machine/
    http://news.zdnet.com/2100-9584_22-6200517.html
    http://www.apple.com/macosx/leopard/technology/64bit.html
    Now whether it actually works the way they say, that I can't wait to find out. But they're saying it will.
     
  12. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    That is like saying you can run 64-bit drivers designed for a G5 on a 64-bit x86.

    64-bit X86 chips have a slightly different architecture when running in 64-bit mode versus 32-bit mode. Drivers need direct hardware access so these differences will lead to problems.

    Applications on the other hand rarely, if ever, need direct hardware access so it is much simpler to run these. However the OS has to be designed so that it's 64-bit libraries can handle the 32-bit code.

    It may be possible to run 32-bit drivers on 64-bit machines but from all i know this is impossible.

    As i said earlier though, it may be easier in OSX to recompile a 32-bit driver directly to 64-bit without much modification.
     
  13. Jocko macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    #13
    Use of 64-bit Windows is just not very wide spread. It's a very niche market that really doesn't intersect with the consumer demographic at all. iPhone is just one example. You'll never have the same level of support. That's a huge con for going 64-bit. The reality of the situation is there's rarely ever a pro for choosing 64-bit. Some people like to talk about how they actually need the larger memory address space because of some huge data they process, but I think most of the time those claims aren't true. Might as well bite the bullet and upgrade to the performance and compatibility benefits of using a 32-bit consumer OS. For people who actually need a 64-bit OS, it would probably be best to simply have 2 machines.
     
  14. Nemisis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #14
    Um...I just got an iPod Touch, which also isn't compatible with 64bit version of windows. I happen to have a 64bit version of windows...which pisses me off cause now I cannot use my iPod. Does anyone here know of ANY way to get around this? Any free way that is...I heard of that VMware...but have no clue how to use it, or even which product to install...or even if it's free. So, could someone help me out?
     
  15. hard-case macrumors regular

    hard-case

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    #15
    I'll admit, all of my programming has been in the 32-bit environment, and what little I know of the difference says you are absolutely correct. Apple says they can do it, though....and whether or not they can, the fact that they're focused on that concept tells me that pumping out a 64-bit Windows-based driver just isn't in the priority chain, sadly.

    Nope, you're in the same boat as we few 64-bit OS iphone users. The driver needed to recognize the devices is 32-bit only and cannot be used in a 64-bit environment, and there isn't any way around it. VMWare is a Virtual PC type program...it will create a virtual "machine" in software that you can install on operating system onto. The whole idea is you'd set up a VMWare "system", install say Windows XP on there, install itunes there, and then just load that up when you want to sync the touch. Problem is using VMWare isn't something for the novice use, plus it is only on a 30 day trial download. After that I think it's $190 bucks. Only thing I can really recommend is to go to Apple's website, and in their feedback section request support for 64-bit operating systems.
     
  16. Nemisis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #16
    I already did that...but honestly, what are the chances of that actually making them change it?

    Can this be changed with an update? Or is this a hardware problem?
     
  17. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #17
    VM Ware Player is free and is great if you don't want to install Windows again.

    You can also download premade VMWare Appliances (i think that's the name) which are basically VMWare images of OS's already installed in VMWare. If you know where you look you can get an unregistered image of XP which will take your serial key.

    The main problem with this is paying for the XP license if you don't already have one.

    Funny story though... i was running Vista 64 and had VM Ware Player running XP (i made the XP image with fusion on the mac). Amazingly XP running in virtualisation seemed faster than Vista it was running on. :)


    Not a hardware problem, it is a combined software plus laziness problem. There is no technical reason why it won't work.
     
  18. Nemisis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #18

Share This Page