Vista Advice on Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Goldcard, Jun 10, 2008.

  1. Goldcard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #1
    I am looking at getting a macbook air in the coming months and need to partition the harddrive to run windows vista for one application. The application seems pretty basic and is a test-taking piece of software for law school. I've posted a few other threads seeking advice but wanted to post one in the Air forums to see if anyone has tried running Vista on the Air with some low end applications?

    How does it perform? Would a regular macbook perform quite a bit better? There can not be any issues running Vista on the Air for me because if it fails during the test then I fail with it!

    My fiance and I have an iMac for our main computer but I would like the Air for its portability as I walk 25 minutes to school through skyways and want to cut back on weight and size as much as possible (not lazy, its just a long way with other books!!).

    What you guys think?
     
  2. qpid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    #2
  3. fuzzielitlpanda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #3
    the major difference i found with running vista on the mba compared to the normal mb is the bootup time. it is incredibly slow on the mba (about 1-1 1/2 minutes) compared to about 20 seconds. within vista, applications run OK. i would seriously consider running xp instead of vista if it is possible.
     
  4. Goldcard thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #4


    Yea, I've looked into using virtualization and software such as crossover but the manufacturer of the software says it is not possible. This is the software I need for school:

    http://www.examsoft.com/main/index.php?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=42

    However, I can use XP but I figured Vista with the service pack would be more efficient now and will have better support for the future.
     
  5. n0de macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #5
    I would use vmware fusion or parallels. No need to screw with partitions and reinstalling OSX.
     
  6. Goldcard thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #6
    According to SoftTest's website the program does not work properly under virtualization software. So I have to use boot camp.

    Does anyone recommend spending the 300 to upgrade to the 1.8ghz or should I just suck it up and run XP with the 1.6ghz Air?
     

Share This Page