Vista AHEM.. El Capitan broke my wifi drivers...

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by MaCalifornia, Aug 16, 2016.

  1. MaCalifornia macrumors newbie

    MaCalifornia

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    Having some flashbacks to Vista problems on the great "Get a Mac" ads.

    I upgraded to El Capitan. I cannot connect to my wireless network which displays an excellent signal. When I try to connect to this excellent signal, I get a worthless error that says "unable to join", "try moving closer to the router".

    Using a MacBook Pro from 2008.

    APPLE, COOL IT WITH THE ANNUAL OS X UPDATES. ITS A GODDAMN NIGHTMARE TO UPGRADE TO THE NEXT LEOPARD!!

    Sadly I need the latest OS X at all times because Xcode is extremely picky and demands the latest OS X otherwise it won't work. This used to be a non issue before Mavericks because I had to put up with this **** once every 2 to 2.5 years...
    --- Post Merged, Aug 16, 2016 ---
    By the way, I have a Mac Pro at my home in California but currently I'm in Pennsylvania for 3.5 weeks and am developing on this older machine which has more than enough CPU power for my needs.
    (In case you were wondering why I'm working with a dinosaur )
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Try the troubleshooting instructions below in the order written. If the issue persists, go to the next step:

    Restart router (take out power cable for 30 seconds, reconnect power, wait 10 minutes, try reconnect to wifi)

    Restart Mac with 'reopen Windows when logging back in' disabled/unticked

    Turn off Mac. Turn back on. Immediately hold CMD+ALT+P+R on startup, until you hear the Apple boot chime 3 times. Then let go.

    Change router wireless encryption to WPA2-PSK (may be called WPA2-AES)

    Any better?
     
  3. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #3
    Well the most basic test would be does it connect to any other WiFi or even a hotspot off you iPhone if you have one?

    This could be as simple as the max devices connected to the router or MAC address security preventing you joining...

    If all else fails just restore back to the previous working version.
     

Share This Page