Vista and airport Extreme help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Dobbs2, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. Dobbs2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #1
    Ok went out and bought the AEBS setup my wireless network and guest network. I also bought a seagate external hdd.

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1218065495073

    I cant get it to be recognized on my network. I'm currently using a Vista Home premium 64 bit desktop. I don't have the mackbook pro currently handy. I can't seem to get the hdd to show up on my network. It shows up in the airport utility as a 933gb seagate...., but doesn't show up anywhere else. I enabled file sharing with accounts and can't seem to figure this out.
     
  2. jecapaga macrumors 601

    jecapaga

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #2
    Did you format the external or hook it up right out of the box?
     
  3. Dobbs2 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #3
    Um I plugged it in to my vista desktop and started setting up folders. Then I plugged it in to the aebs and it recognized it in the utility but not the actual network.
     
  4. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #4
    The USB drive MUST be formatted in HFS+ to work with the AEBS. You will need a Mac to do this as Windows is too dumb to deal with it.
     
  5. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #5
    Mac OS X can't format NTFS, one if not the most widely used formats because of Windows; so it must be pretty stupid too.

    Reformat the drive to HFS+ (you may have to switch partition table from Master Boot Record to GUID to do so). Windows isn't reading/writing directly to the disk, so the Mac only format will work.
     
  6. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #6
    MacFUSE solves the problem for free. No such option in Windows for HFS+
     
  7. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #7
    I didn't mention that on purpose because it's not all that stable and isn't nearly as good as any of the "normal" formats. If you don't eject a disk properly with that software, you have a much greater chance to damage/lose all of your data on it moreso than any other (which is to say, it will happen). That's more of a problem with NTFS in general, but it is only exasperated by using that software.
     
  8. Dobbs2 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #8
    Ok took it back and just bought the 1tb time capsule. Everything works for the most part. I can read and write to the networked hdd from my pc. The only thing is on this one I can't get my printer to show up. I had it connected via ethernet and nothing registered. I then tried usb and it recognizes it on the time capsule, but when I go to print from the windows machine it asks me to save as a xps file and then does nothing.
     

Share This Page