Vista Boot Camp Software Raid

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by .macstiled, May 8, 2008.

  1. .macstiled macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #1
    Hello.

    I'd like to set up a separate 3-drive striped software Raid0 solution in Vista to increase write performance for FRAPS capturing, but need guidance on how to proceed, please.

    mac pro 8-core 2.8GHz "Early 2008" 14GB RAM WD 640GB x4

    Drive1 - Mac OS 10.5.2 / Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit (Boot Camp 2.1)

    Drive2 - Striped Raid0 1/3
    Drive3 - Striped Raid0 2/3
    Drive4 - Striped Raid0 3/3

    The 3 latter drives is what I'm trying to configure, but don't know how to do so for my Vista partition. Is this even possible? If so, does Vista have this built-in capability, or would I need to download a third-party software raid utility? Please advise. Thank you.
     
  2. .macstiled thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #2
    After finally figuring it out, and about to create the striped drive, Logical Disk Manager had this to say:

    "The dynamic disks are not supported by this operating system."

    At least now I know why it was so hard to find information anywhere concerning this. Anyway, fyi.
     
  3. dgdosen macrumors 65816

    dgdosen

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    Get a copy of Windows Server 2008 - it should work fine.
     
  4. techbri macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #4
    Louden,

    So you are saying that if I install Windows Server 2008 in bootcamp, that I can create software raid data partiitons? I wish that bootcamp supported hardware or software raid and allowed for the System/Active partition to exist on a raid array.
     
  5. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #5
    Lucky for you that Vista (Or Server 2008) doesn't require a separate driver disk for RAID. I would assume you already have the disks in soft RAID under OSX? If so, that's your problem. You need hard RAID, which requires a RAID card, which doesn't let you bootcamp :(

    catch 22 ;d
     
  6. powermac_daddy macrumors 6502

    powermac_daddy

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Philadelphia & Northern California
    #6
    Just to clarify this:

    We cannot use parallel hard drive in Vista 64-bit under Bootcamp. RAID for OS X only. Am i right?
     
  7. techbri macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #7
    Lets suppose that I had additional disks in my Mac Pro that are not configured in OSX at all. Is there any conceivable way to setup soft/hard raid and build a bootcamp partition on the array?
     
  8. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #8
    I would assume so. You would mess up your OSX soft RAID if you tried putting ANOTHER RAID on top of it, but if the hard drives are different I would guess that you could. Unfortunately I've never used Bootcamp, but from what I understand you can format a second hard disk entirely for Windows, so I don't see why you couldn't set up a soft RAID array in that.
     
  9. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    http://www.caldigit.com/RAIDCard/
     

Share This Page