Vista Business and VMWare Fusion

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ipaqman, Sep 8, 2007.

  1. Ipaqman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    #1
    hi all,

    i just purchased vm ware fusion for my new mbp and wanted to know what operating system to get with it. if i get vista business do i get the 32bit or 64bit version?

    thanks,
    ipaqman

    anyone know which version i should go with? should i go vista 32 or xp pro?

    anyone have any opinions??? i have a brand new 2.4 mbp and wanted to use either vista business or xp pro just for using a few programs. anyone have any experience with either of these operating systems?

    thanks so much.
     
  2. Thetinguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    Ultimate 32 bit unless you have more than 4 gigs of ram then get the 64bit.
     
  3. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #3
    What will you be doing? You need to be more specific...
     
  4. Ipaqman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    #4
    i would just be using it to run a few business programs and to manage my music as OSX does not support ruckus.
     
  5. psingh01 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #5
    I have 32 bit Vista Business which I run with VMWare. I've just tested it and it runs perfectly fine on my MBP. I still prefer XP since I am used to the UI, but there is nothing wrong with running Vista with VMware on a MBP. I don't see a need for Ultimate though, just extra eye candy which you really don't need in a VM.

    If you go with Vista just make sure the software you want is compatible with it. I would probably switch to it if the VPN client I need worked with it.
     

Share This Page