Vista home premuim on SR MBP 32 bit or 64?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Tacos!, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. Tacos! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I'm going to buy the oem version of vista home premuim, but before i do that i want to know if i should buy the 32 bit or the 64 bit... If my laptop is 64bit compatable would it show and performance differences?? Also whats with this EULA agreement i hear people talking about?? Do i have to get Ultimate now?
    -Justin
     
  2. mags631 Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #2
    If you have < 4GB of RAM, 32-bit, and if you have that or more, probably 32-bit. 64-bit Vista is a little young right now, and unless you love adventure, let others figure out all the drivers and application issues.

    If you are running Vista in a Virtual Machine, I believe you need Business or Ultimate. If you are doing just boot camp, you can buy which ever edition meets your needs best.
     
  3. LMO macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #3
    The test results I've seen show that running 64 bit apps is overall only about 10% faster than 32 bit apps, and most of the advantage comes from heavy floating point use. As mags631 pointed out, there aren't as many 64-bit drivers and you can't use any unsigned drivers.

    If you buy Vista Ultimate, both the 32 bit and 64 bit versions are included. For versions other than Ultimate and Starter you can get the 64 bit edition by paying for the postage.
     
  4. philt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #4
    I installed Vista 64bit on a macbook. The drivers with bootcamp don't work. I was able to find a driver for the wireless adapter elsewhere on the web, but there are no drivers for the keyboard for 64bit Vista. Which means you have no right-click, no eject button, no trackpad scrolling, etc....

    It was a pain in the butt, so I installed 32 bit Vista instead.
     
  5. Tacos! thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #5
    The oem version of ultimate has either 32 or 64 bit, so i dont think the oem version has both... I think i may just get vista home premuim in 32 bit. Unless you guys object...
    Thanks,
    Justin
     
  6. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #6

    I'm running the 32bit Vista Home Premium on my MBP and it runs really well. I'm actually quite surprised how much better than XP Pro it seems.

    However, point to consider, you can't use Vista Home Premium with any virtualisation apps such as Parallels or VMware. But it runs great in Bootcamp.
     

Share This Page