Vista OEM help...

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by doylee01, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. doylee01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #1
    Hi i successfully bootcamped my imac to run windows vista on a 32gb partition. Problem is i have ran out of room quite quickly and need to have more room. I understand i have to repartition the hard drive, problem is i purchased the OEM version of vista so how would i go about reinstalling it on my mac?
     
  2. rbc24123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    #2
    1. Go to your Boot Camp .app in Applications/Utilities and remove your existing BC partition.
    2. Resintall Boot Camp (be sure to resize your partition appropriately...you don't want to have to do this again, do you?).

    If anything, when you reactivate Vista, it'll ask to call Microsoft's toll-free number (assuming you live in the US) and will go throuhg a series of challenge/response codes with you. NOTE: be sure to state that you have Vista installed on only ONE system. Anything else and you'll either be denied a new activation code or you'll have to go through the hassle of speaking with a Microsoft rep.

    Best of luck!

    ________________________________
    :apple: Unibody 15" MBP | 4GB | 320GB 5200 RPM HD | OS X 10.5.6 | Microsoft Office 2008 for Mac | Boot Camp w/Vista SP1 | VMWare Fusion 2.0.1 | 1 TB Time Capsule
     
  3. Vivaldi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Location:
    Manhattan, NYC
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    You can clone your BootCamp partition with WinClone

    Then you can delete the old partition and create a new partition with BootCamp

    Restore your clone

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     

Share This Page