Vista SP1 and Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by dgdosen, Apr 26, 2008.

  1. dgdosen macrumors 65816

    dgdosen

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #1
    Now that Vista SP1 is out the door - can anyone attest if they can avoid BIOS with Vista in Bootcamp? I'm not sure if there's even installation media available for Vista + SP1 yet. If there is, has anyone tried it?


    Thanks!
     
  2. jason999 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #2
    I won't touch Vista with a barge pole. Its a horrible operating system.
    Don't even think a sp1 or a sp2 etc can fix it. Windows xp pro with sp2
    is fantastic. Why move the vista which only slows the computer down
    to a pentium 4 speed.

    Hardware problems galore with vista too. I can't see the point myself.
    Vista wiull turn out to be M$ biggest blunder after the Xbox 360 addon of the now defunct hd-dvd player.

    M$ getting to greedy for their own good.

    I know one poor bugger that installed vista and has installed sp1 and still he can't get his printer, camera, modem, and scanner to work.
     
  3. Santa Rosa macrumors 65816

    Santa Rosa

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #3
    Thats a pretty scathing review of Vista there... It definately has problems but I have so far managed to have a reasonable experience with it on my Macbook Pro. Have it installed with SP1, not quite sure what you are talking about with the BIOS but I can say a standard bootcamp install of Vista Pre SP1 then with all the upgrades on my Mac seems to work not to badly.

    My advice would be to just keep it simple.
     
  4. iTronz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    I have vista SP1 on my MacBook late 2007 version, 64bit with 4GB ram and it is pretty fast when in the actual operating system. These new bootcamp drivers seems to have made a difference. Having 64bit with 4GB makes a lot of difference compared to having 32bit with 2GB ram or more. I do agree that vista can be very annoying at times, but with enough ram its not too bad especially with SP1 now released.
     
  5. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    Do we really need to turn this into another "Vista sucks" thread?

    I have no idea what you mean by this. Can you elaborate? I have Vista SP1 on my Mac Pro and it runs fine - pretty much the same as before SP1 (but I don't use Windows much).
     
  6. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #6
    Hi,

    I have XP Pro SP2 x32 on MBP and Vista Ultimate SP1 x64 on Mac Pro. I must admit that Vista is quite good... better look and quite fast. I'm thinking about migration on MBP to Vista as well...

    sash
     
  7. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #7
    Wow? And I'm guessing you're basing this off of everything you've read off the internet? You sound like an uneducated fanboy.

    Hardware problems? Hardly. It's a matter of getting drivers, and if drivers aren't available for Vista for your computer, how is that MS's problem/fault? It's not. They can't produce drivers for every single piece of hardware.

    This poor bugger. Something tells me that the manufacturer of his camera, printer, modem and scanner didn't provide drivers for Vista? So... Once again, how is it MS's fault again? Printer and scanner manufacturers are notorious for dropping support for older printers (read, printers that are discontinued) on newer OS's. If it's a cheap camera, then usually those manufacturers can take some time to provide some drivers that provide full functionality. Regardless, it's hardly MS's fault if drivers for your peripherals don't work because the manufacturer don't support their products properly.

    This isn't to say that Vista is perfect. Before SP1, file transfers were pretty slow (there was a hotfix released last year), and sometimes UAC would hang, and it still will hang, especially if the program/executable is poorly packaged (Apple's bootcamp 2.1 update comes to mind). But Vista is not as bad as you make it sound, and IMO, it's better than XP. And Mac OS X is hardly perfect either. If it was, then I the Mac OS X forum would be empty and there would be no Apple support forum.

    God, I hate fanboys. They see everything with their rose colored glasses.
     
  8. CoolMe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #8
    I must agree with you there.

    I'm a huge Microsoft fan boy.

    I started off with dual booting with Darwin boot with Leopard on my windows laptop.

    And today, i've purchased a Macbook Pro.:D

    Now I can take both sides! Mwhah
     
  9. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #9
    Try using Ubuntu Linux. I like most OSes. They have their uses. I can't say that one is better than the other. In certain areas, one may trump on OS, but in others, the opposite is true.
     
  10. dgdosen thread starter macrumors 65816

    dgdosen

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #10
    Wow... 7 replies, and all fanboy/anti-fanboy related except, this one. I didn't ask if you all like or disliked Vista - don't hijack this thread.

    My install of Vista SPI on my Bootcamped MBP still uses BIOS during boot up. It doesn't avoid use of BIOS for EFI. Just because Vista SP1 can use EFI doesn't mean it does use it... That's what prompted my question. I'm wondering if anyone out there has Vista SP1 on Apple hardware AND avoids BIOS.
     
  11. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #11
  12. Geordie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I'd like to try it on my MacBook but after three failed attempts with
    "The service pack did not install" at the END. I have given up.
    (I did go through the recommended steps on the Microsoft help site, most for attempt 2, all for attempt 3)

    The whole process made trying XP with SP3 tempting :rolleyes:
     
  13. dgdosen thread starter macrumors 65816

    dgdosen

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #13
  14. sash macrumors 6502a

    sash

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    #14
    No idea... One of the reasons this site exists, is because Apple never communicates about its plans...

    sash
     

Share This Page