Vista SP1 Released

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Cromulent, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #1
    Vista SP1 has been released and has popped up on Windows Update. I'm downloading it now, hopefully it will all work afterwards :).

    Looking forward to all the fixes that it is meant to incorporate.
     
  2. wgilles macrumors 6502

    wgilles

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    #2
    Anything "good" in the update?
     
  3. tuxtpenguin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Location:
    TX
  4. XianPalin macrumors 6502

    XianPalin

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #4
    I think it only showed up for a select few, and isn't officially out. It showed up for me last night (Vista Ultimate 64-bit) but no longer shows up.

    Probably accidental? :confused:
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    It's a "pre-update" that gets your system ready for SP1, but Microsoft pulled it because it's sending some systems into an infinite loop.
     
  6. tuxtpenguin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Location:
    TX
  7. webgoat macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    i've got nothing showing up either with 32bit ultimate... is this the real deal or just another release candidate?
     
  8. Cromulent thread starter macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #8
    Works fine for me.

    Microsoft do not release RC software on Windows Update.
     
  9. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #9
    i hope this is a good upgrade and gets rid of some of the stuf they have implemented

    like not being able to use handbrake in vista due to wanting to protect copyright or something. that pissed me off
     
  10. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #10
    Nothing's showing up on my Windows update, only a definition update for Windows Defender.

    I'm running Vista Business.
     

Share This Page