Vista, the frigid, stale, runt twin of 0S X

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by benfilan, Oct 15, 2007.

  1. benfilan macrumors 6502

    benfilan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
    #1
    i'm posting from Vista!its terribly exciting. and by exciting i mean, well, dull.

    its extremely xp-ish, just a bit shinier. the owner turned off the vista rip-offof expose, and she doesnt know how to turn it on. so cute.

    i am so glad i use a mac :):D
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    this is Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion board.....
     
  3. benfilan thread starter macrumors 6502

    benfilan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    industry discussion?

    anyway, chill out psycholina, this is the internets, not 'nam.
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Brilliant sentence.

    Anyway how is it frigid? I mean Vista will go with just about anyone. OS X is the choosey type. And who wants to get it on with their OS anyway
     
  5. DerChef macrumors 6502

    DerChef

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #5
    I actually rather like the Vista Glass interface very much and would say it makes Tiger look a we bit old now until Leopard arrives that is.

    What my problem is with Vista is that it has brought my not that old PC to its knees :( and I have spent my time turning off services and interface items to try and get some performance out of the dam thing

    Needless to say I dual boot back into XP to actually do some work :p
     
  6. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #6
    I hear you need a DX10 type of system (C2D, DX10 video card with 512Megs, 2Gigs RAM+) if you want to enjoy anything above Vista Basic...
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #7
    no, p4+1GRAM+GMA950 is fine.
     
  8. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #8
    tripe. It can work on much lower specs.
     
  9. DerChef macrumors 6502

    DerChef

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #9
    Thats about what I have I would not not want to try anything much less.

    Vista is an odd beast some things it does really fast its desktop search function I would say is quicker than spotlight but other things are horrific slow like copying big files between drives.:eek:
     
  10. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Strangely, I found Vista to be quite slow.

    AMD Opteron 180 + 4GB RAM + 8800 GTS

    I've gone back to XP for my gaming.
     
  11. benfilan thread starter macrumors 6502

    benfilan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    why thankyou :p

    frigid? well....it doesn't engage me. it still feels like a cold terminal, its not MY machine, its....bleh.

    Also, is anyone ever going to figure out why windows machines have this constant symphony of whirrs, fans on/off, a thousand lights, hard drive activity when nothing is happening etc etc....? :rolleyes:
     
  12. benfilan thread starter macrumors 6502

    benfilan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12

    i agree, it did look, dare i say it, quite slick :)

    but it doesn't make me want Vista, just anticipate Leopard more ;)
     
  13. benfilan thread starter macrumors 6502

    benfilan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    sub-q

    whats the vista name for its version of expose?
     
  14. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
  15. imac/cheese macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    #15
    Why are you insulting runt twins by comparing them to Vista?
     
  16. TheStu macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    #16
    They shined up Alt+Tab, so now you flip through all the open windows on your system by either arrows or scrolling your mouse wheel. Expose is much faster IMO.
     
  17. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #17
    i've only used Vista a little bit. maybe i should try it again some time......nah, i'll buy leopard instead :p
     
  18. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #18
    Well for the cost (of Ultimate), you can buy 2+ copes of Leopard! :)
     

Share This Page