Vista trashed by spyware

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by chatin, May 30, 2007.

  1. chatin macrumors 6502

    chatin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #1
    I recently got a look at Windows Vista machine that had the smitfraud virus. The smitfraud virus puts a throbber that shouts various security warnings in the bottom toolbar.

    There was no way to fix this except reinstall the OS! Since no Vista restore CD was shipped we decided to scrap the machine (save the HD) and get an iMac.

    Lesson learned: Viruses and spyware abound and many Vista machines ship without restore media!
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    The fact that it got a virus that apparently couldn't be removed aside...isn't the fact you have no restore media the fault of the vendor? You're paying them for Windows as part of your computer purchase, if they don't give you an install disk that's up to them.
     
  3. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #3
    Generally if they don't ship with restore cd's you're given the option to make them yourself when you set the computer up for the first time.
     
  4. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #4
    nowadays they just put a packed OS on a hidden partition, u can restore windows by pressing a shortkey during the booting.

    anyway, because a virus, u scratch the whole computer, and save the HD-where the virus is? that sounds a little bit irrational to me...
     
  5. wyatt23 macrumors 6502a

    wyatt23

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Forest Hills, NY
    #5
    1 virus? idk if that consitutes the title "spyware trashed". did you even do a google search on whether or not you could remove it?

    i mean kudos to getting an iMac, but really as bad as vista could be, i wouldn't be so quick to drop $1000+ bc of one virus. [i would have just bought an iMac in the first place.]

    also, on a similar note... it annoys me to no end that new PCs don't come with restore discs. dvd's or cd's cost at most $1 [and that's a giant overguestimate] to give to you. it's crap that you'd have to just create an image backup. who wants to restore to an image backup with all the preload garbage vendors give to you?
     
  6. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Most viruses people get are installed by the person themselves. There aren't many viruses out there that crap up your system without user involvment. Right now for Vista there are none (AFAIK).

    So basically you infected yourself with the virus. You can't blame vista for your own incompetance, especially since vista would have thrown a warning up just like OSX would.
     
  7. chatin thread starter macrumors 6502

    chatin

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #7
    Vista was supposed to be secure. The owner only had one CD marked "Vista upgrade" (An absolutely rediculous way to buy more Vista)

    You can imagine the frustration here.
     
  8. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Vista is secure, but it is not going to stop you running something if you want to run it. If you want to run a virus that craps up your computer vista will warn you but it will let you do it. So will OSX if you want it to. I can send you a script which will delete your drive and if you authorise it then it will do that.

    Vista upgrade? Do some reading, there is a way around the upgrade path by installing vista twice. I don't agree with how MS works on this but that's how the person bought it. They saved money by buying an upgrade dvd. OSX works differently but apple could just as easily release an upgrade to leopard disk for half the regular price but you'd need to have tiger already installed.

    Anyway as i said, this problem is more to do with lack of knowledge than anything wrong with windows itself. It's like crashing your car because you didn't brake hard enough... "OOOh but the car is supposed to stop for me...".
     
  9. Mpulsive81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    #9
    While it sucks, this guy hit the nail on the head. A clear cut case of PEBKAC.

    But I'll say that I don't understand your logic in your resolution. Wouldn't the computer be just a *little* more than the harddrive contents? Plus virus' can be fixed.
     
  10. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #10
    well, don't be, like i said, nowadays, vista machine alway packed a winxp on a hidden partition, hotkey during booting will restore the xp, and then use vista update to install vista. its not like there is no way to install it.
     
  11. zero2dash macrumors 6502a

    zero2dash

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Fenton, MO
    #11
    Incorrect.
    You could've Google searched and followed this.

    I've used that tool on several XP machines to get rid of Smitfraud successfully.
     
  12. headhammer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #12
    just as a side note, i had to order the apple install discs for a macbook today, and they're AUD$22, which probably makes them about USD$15
     

Share This Page