vista ultiamte 64 or 32 on 8800gs????

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by retrofraction, Jun 4, 2008.

  1. retrofraction macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #1
    I bought the new I mac with 8800gs and so far I have not been able to contact some one who has succesfully install windows vista onto it.

    also if I bought the 32 bit version, exactly how much ram can vista use?
     
  2. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    ...i have the same iMac (im in love!!!!).....i dont know the ram i didnt look but i installed vista32 and it works excellent no problem except i havent got video card driver update to work yet but thats me not vista32....its very fast no problem with games or anything

    i tried vista64 first becoz ram but the imac leopard dvd doesnt have drivers/bootcamp stuff so i just did 32 and its no problem.....
     
  3. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #3
    It doesnt matter what version.

    32-bit will see all 4GB, but will only be able to address 3.5GB or so.

    64-bit will see all 4GB, and be able to address 4GB, all the way up to I believe a TB or so of RAM.
     
  4. retrofraction thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #4
    thank you soo much !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!;)
     
  5. jerryrock macrumors 6502

    jerryrock

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NY
    #5
    For 64bit Vista, only the early 2008 models of MacPro and MacBook Pro are supported. They have the newer EFI firmware that is compatible with the Vista 64bit SP1 DVD boot.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1846
     
  6. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    ..thanks jerryrock.....but i dont no what this means :p will imacs be ok for vista64 in future updates eg firmware updates or something??or can i never run vista64 on the 3.06 imacs??.......vista32 is ok but i did always buy this imac thinking to vista64
     
  7. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #7
    Why do you want 64? All it does it let one application use more than 4 GB RAM.
     
  8. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    I'd say 64. I have yet to find any apps that don't work with it. It feels like night and day from 32-bit.
     
  9. aki macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    ...eXan... i have some stuff 64bit only...not much but some things one example is upgraded texture/model/etc/etc for halflife2......its true just for ram its not a big difference
     
  10. jerryrock macrumors 6502

    jerryrock

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NY
    #10
    Hopefully there will be a firmware upgrade that will allow the installation of Vista 64 on the new iMacs and older MacPro, but right now it will not install.
     
  11. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #11
    That's odd. It installed fine on my MBP (early 2008, you said "new" so I'm assuming it's the latest model).
     
  12. retrofraction thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #12
    i'm guessign that we need to find the real name for the 8800gs ( I heard it was a 8800m gts loptop card )- try that card's driver for 64bit

    your MBP has a 8600gt which is easy to get drivers for and does not have a fake name.

    the differnce between 64bit and 32bit besides ram is that your prossesor bandwith has been doubled ( though it only works with 64bit apps ) so technecally you should be able to copy and move data twice as fast.
     
  13. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #13
    2^64 is NOT twice as much as 2^32. It much, m u c h more.
     
  14. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #14
    Yeah, that was pretty dumb they called it the 8800gs or whatever. I don't care what people say about 64-bit, they're awesome. I mean it's not like it would be slower (yes, I know 32-bit apps have to go through wow (windows on windows), but it doesn't hurt the performance to noticeable extents).

    I do plan on getting 4 GB of ram pretty quick here, to make the 64-bit OS that much more worth it.
     
  15. jerryrock macrumors 6502

    jerryrock

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Location:
    Amsterdam, NY
    #15
    It not a matter of getting 64bit drivers for your video card (they already exist).

    http://www.gamershell.com/download_23011.shtml
     
  16. smeagolxbox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #16
    8800gs driver installation - Vista 64-bit

    Hello. I have a 24" iMac with the 8800gs video card. I'm running Vista 64-bit using bootcamp. I've found a way to install a driver and get it working for the video card.

    1. Download the latest Nvidia GeForce Driver for Windows Vista 64-bit.
    2. Run the exe file. It will fail, but the purpose of this is to create the C:/Nvidia...etc folder that contains the driver.
    3. Now open your device manager. If you're a little rusty, that's Start, Right click on computer, properties, device manager (on left)
    4. Navigate to the 8800gs graphics adapter under display adapters (it may not be called 8800gs yet)
    5. Right Click and update driver.
    6. Select Browse my computer for driver software.
    7. Select Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer.
    8. Select Have Disk and then browse to the location that was made in step 2. This is usually something like c:/nvidia/drivers/.....vista64bit.
    9. Then scroll down and select the 8800gs driver and install it (this may take 2 or 3 minutes)
    10. Restart and you're finished!

    I now have a 5.8 rating in the Vista performance tool. Sweet!
     
  17. John Jacob macrumors 6502a

    John Jacob

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    #17
    Does anyone know if the late 2008 Macbook or Macbook Pro (the newly released ones) will support Vista 64?
     
  18. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #18
    Without a doubt. The early 2008 ones do, why wouldn't the late 2008 ones not support it?
     
  19. matthew7554 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    #19
    Early MAC PRO...

    Currently running Windows XP and AutoCAD 2009. Long story short, AutoCAD 2009 BLOWS and continuously has memory issues. The rumor is that by upgrading to 64 bit most of the issues with AutoCAD go away...

    Any ideas if I can upgrade my Early MAC PRO (purchased in Fall of '06) from XP to Vista 64 bit...
     
  20. Craiger macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #20
    I'm having lots of problems getting Vista X64 to work properly on my Late 2008 Macbook 2.4. It won't install Bootcamp in Vista so I can't get the drivers to work properly.
     

Share This Page