Vista Ultra or XP Pro?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by OnePumpChump, Feb 11, 2008.

?

Vista Ultra, XP Pro, or other

  1. Vista Ultra

    13 vote(s)
    27.1%
  2. XP Pro

    28 vote(s)
    58.3%
  3. Other

    4 vote(s)
    8.3%
  4. I would never put windows on my mac

    3 vote(s)
    6.3%
  1. OnePumpChump macrumors regular

    OnePumpChump

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #1
    I've seen several posts with several answers. So lets just see who would choose what. This is based on running windows in boot camp, to play games and run apps. Please explain why!

    * Yes, sorry. Vista Ultimate. Derr.
     
  2. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #2
    Seeing as there's no Vista Ultra... :D

    I think you meant Vista Ultimate. Anyway, at the moment I'd recommend XP over Vista, especially if you want to play games.
     
  3. Heliconsoul macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #3
    I chose Vista ultimate. I've been running it on a PC with no real problem at all, plus DirectX 10 goodness for newer games is a bonus. There's merits to running either really.
     
  4. rds macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #4
    I will be installing Vista x64 Business because I don't care for the extra tat, I want it to see all 8 cores and all my RAM.
     
  5. OnePumpChump thread starter macrumors regular

    OnePumpChump

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #5
    So, if I was to run Vista Ultimate, no doubt that will be good for the newer games, but how does that handle the older games? (Diablo 2, Morrowind, BF1942)
     
  6. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
  7. cohibadad macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #7
    XP is the best PC games OS. DX10 and Vista maybe in the future maybe.
     
  8. XianPalin macrumors 6502

    XianPalin

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #8
    I have Vista Ultimate 64-bit, and I've been debating back and forth, but I did a search for a few games I wanted to play and they didn't work under Vista, so it's XP for me.

    Plus, I've already tried to run it once on my PC and went back to XP, so I'd probably end up doing the same thing on my Mac Pro.
     
  9. stomer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #9
    "to play games and run apps". There is no compelling reason to run XP over Vista. Besides, app and driver support is better on XP.
     
  10. stomer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #10
    "to play games and run apps". There is no compelling reason to run XP over Vista. Besides, app and driver support is better on XP.
     
  11. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #11
    xp gets my vote sorry vista but your a pile of poop

    my 500th post anyone know of a great place for avatars?
     
  12. ::Lisa:: macrumors 6502a

    ::Lisa::

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #12
    I'd go for XP Pro for stability. If you like the look of Vista, just get the Vista Skin for XP. My husband did that for his PC.
     
  13. c073186 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #13
    What is this business about only Vista Ultimate or XP Pro being able to take full advantage of the 8-core Mac Pro? I am getting one soon (hopefully, waiting to ship with 8800GT) and am most likely going to go with Vista. But I almost went out and bought Home Premium. Then I noticed someone mentioning in these forums that Home Premium will only recognize 2- or 4-cores and that only the Ultimate can utilize 8-cores. Is this true? And if yes, what is the reason? What the hell is wrong with Microsoft?
     
  14. OnePumpChump thread starter macrumors regular

    OnePumpChump

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #14
    Yes, it is true.

    And the reason? I bet making more money has something to do with it, which is understandable because they are really struggling ;)
     
  15. c073186 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #15

    I more meant: What is it about Ultimate that the other versions lack that enables to to use 8-cores? Looking at Microsoft's comparison chart, I would not recognize that difference. That is highly misleading.
     
  16. cokersa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #16
    OnePumpChump is correct, its about making more money. The Home versions are only licensed for a single die (chip), and so it will only recognize however many cores you have on a single chip (I have a "quad core", which is really two Xeon chips, each with two cores). Interestingly enough, the Vista DVDs contain ALL versions of Vista (of the same bit variety, meaning all x32 bit versions or all x64 bit versions). It is the license key that determines what "version" (feature functionality) is loaded/enabled. To enable multiple dies (chips), you need the Enterprise or Ultimate version.
     
  17. webgoat macrumors 6502a

    webgoat

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #17
    originally ran xp pro with boot camp and since removed and replaced with vista ultimate 32 (mainly because i got it for $34 from my university)... since installed xp pro as a vm only... i prefer vista ultimate gui and have had no problems with it except sometimes a random wireless signal drop requiring a disconnect/reconnect
     
  18. OnePumpChump thread starter macrumors regular

    OnePumpChump

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #18
    So, can I play older games with the vista ultimate 64 or only newer ones? I have a pretty large library of somewhat older games, from the Diablo 2 era on up. Mainly, I would like something that can recognize my 8 cores, and recognize my 10 gigs of memory while in bootcamp. I do play games quite a bit, when I'm not working with my OSX programs. Any recommendations?
     
  19. OnePumpChump thread starter macrumors regular

    OnePumpChump

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    #19
    And does anyone know if I can use an OEM version or does it have to be retail?
     
  20. GoodWatch macrumors 6502a

    GoodWatch

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    Rotterdam, The Netherlands
    #20
    I chose not to use the dual boot option but went for VMWare and XP. The few things I need to do in Windows do not warrant the bothersome reboot process.
     
  21. redgaz26 macrumors 68020

    redgaz26

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #21
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    I've got vista ultimate.
    My cousin works for microsoft and I got it for nowt. I have to say its not bad. But after using it for a while I do like to return to Leopard.
     
  22. Melrose Suspended

    Melrose

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    #22
    I said 'other' simply because I've got XP Home on mine. I don't need a professional version to run IE7 - and as far as I'm concerned, the less of Windows the better :apple::apple::apple::apple::apple:
     

Share This Page