vista via bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by puckhead193, Apr 26, 2007.

  1. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    I was in compusa today cause their going out of business... I wonder why ;)
    Ne woot, its 40% off. They don't have XP. Do you think i should do it? How unstable is it? WHich version should i get theirs like home basic, home extended and professional or something like that.
     
  2. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #2
    Think twice before buying Vista.

    They where giving free Vista Business at college, so I installed it, and while it is nice, I liked XP better. Maybe it is the big change from XP, and I only need time to get used to it, but the big picture is that it does not offers much more than XP. You have the improved graphics, but they cross the line with the eye-candy in Vista, it is just TOO MUCH, it distracts you. Windows forgot that the most important thing is ease of use and simplicity.

    Also, with Vista you won't be able to format the partition in FAT32. Which may be a disadvantage for you.

    So, my recommendation is to go XP.
    If you have that killing curiosity (like myself:p ), and want to try Vista, then I would recommend buying the Home Premium, it has Aero and seems to be the best option.

    As for stability, Vista seems to be stable, and comes with spyware and that kind of things included (no anti-virus included), so it is a plus for Vista here.
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    I caved and bought Vista Business today at CompUSA, 40% discount off a retail license was just too much to pass up. Still not sure if I'll use it on my Dell or the iMac in Boot Camp/Parallels.

    I agree with Roco that Home Premium is probably the best license for most users, but only Business and Ultimate can be run in a VM according to the EULA.

    B
     
  4. puckhead193 thread starter macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    a VM? :confused:
    They had some good stuff including FCS for $800, i'm tempted to get a wacom tablet... :eek:
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    VM = Virtual Machine. If you want to use Vista in either Parallels or VMWare, you need to get Business or Ultimate if you want to stay in compliance with the license. Home Basic and Home Premium are not supposed to be run under virtualization, even though reports are that it actually works fine.

    Mine only had some random stuff, there were Applecare bluetooth upgrade kits for Mac Pros and minis and a pair of ACDs without power supplies. I did see FCS too, and all Apple software is now 40% off, iLife, etc... (Funny iWork didn't catch my eye, but at $60 I might consider upgrading. Maybe I'll stop back tomorrow again.)

    B
     

Share This Page