Visual-Hub on intel imac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Rob1980, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. Rob1980 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Ramsgate UK
    #1
    OK so i am currently encoding all my video in to my itunes on my iMac G5 1.8. But it is taking quite a long time! It is taking about 400 minutes to do a 700MB AVI using go nuts settings on visual-Hub. I was wondering what the performance would be like on a new iMac 2.8 had how long encoding would take.
    Thanks in advance
    Rob
     
  2. motomac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #2
    How much RAM do you currently have in the machine? I would max it out if I were you, as that will help significantly!!
     
  3. Kuska macrumors regular

    Kuska

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    Deep in The Weald, England
    #3

    If you can get hold of the elgato h.264, that will improve your encoding performance in a very big way. Worked wonders on my 2.0GHZ G5 with 2GB RAM. Handbrake would take all night to encode 4.7GB the elgato would take two hours max. A worthwhile investment - and since it takes some load of the main CPU, you can get on with other tasks. I've just received a new 2.8GHZ iMac and its comparable with the G5 plus h.264.
     
  4. hologram macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #4
    The OP might not want h.264. I know I don't.

    I'm using VisualHub, burning to cd/dvd so I can play the files on my stand-alone DVD/DivX player, which will handle .avi but not h.264, and I'd like to know, too.

    So, rather than suggestions to use different software, I'm curious as to the answer about the new hardware performance with VisualHub.

    I currently have an embarrasingly old G4 tower, but I'm about to buy a new iMac, too.
     
  5. je1ani macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #5
    using a 2.4 its usually realtime meaning a 2 hour film is 2 hours to encode but my 2.8 was the same
     
  6. Rob1980 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Ramsgate UK
    #6
    Thanks for all the reply's. I think a upgrade is on the cards i was just wondering what kind of performance gain i would get going from a G5 to 2.8 intel when converting? I currently have 1.25Gb of RAM.
     
  7. hologram macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    #7
    Right now it takes 10 hours on my machine (Dual G4 500, 1mb ram). I let it run all night. It may be old, but it's been working for me since Sept. 1999. A new iMac sure will be a pleasure!
     

Share This Page