Visual voicemail doesn't exist on new iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Chodite, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. Chodite macrumors 6502a

    Chodite

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #1
    Just picked up my wife a new iPhone and when touching the Voicemail icon, it dials a voicemail # instead of showing the visual voicemail screen. Any idea how to fix this?
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    This is an at&t problem. They have not enabled the VV on the account, so when the iPhone trys to connect, it gets an error and fails over to regular VoiceMail. Call 611, and they should be able to correct it in a few minutes.

    TEG
     
  3. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #3
    Setup the voicemail, password etc as prompted and then the VVM will work. You have to setup the password first. Hope this helps.
     
  4. Chodite thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chodite

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #4
    I'm now at the 2nd tier of ATT support. We've reset the password, set up the voicemail via the voice prompts when it dials the voicemail #, reset the phone, etc.... still no visual voicemail. Tech support tells me VV shows on the account.

    He's now xfer'ing me to Apple support. This is great :(
     
  5. Chodite thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chodite

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #5
    .... annnnd after 20 minutes on hold, I gave up.
    Who needs visual voicemail anyway?!
     
  6. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #6
    Usage of my phone is 4 to 1 (text to phone). VV is awesome for my lifestyle. I can hang on to all my messages easily ;)
     
  7. andyblila macrumors 65816

    andyblila

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    On My iPhone, or my iPad?
    #7
    Wow. I am sorry to hear that. I had the same problem initially. Once I set up the voicemail per the prompts and reset the phone VV showed up.:confused:
     
  8. Witty lama macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #8
    welcome to the rest of the world - this is the one feature (AFAIK) that is exclusive to the USA.
     
  9. Chodite thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chodite

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #9
    And obviously my internet sarcasm stinks.
    Of course I want Visual Voicemail on my iPhone!

    I have it on mine and my wife is bummed it's not on her's. Very frustrating. But I'll call again today and try to see if I can get through in less than 20 minutes *crossing my fingers*
     
  10. njchris macrumors regular

    njchris

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #10
    Call the phone and leave a voicemail.

    Wait a few minutes.

    It will then work (it may ask for the password).
    Stay in the phone dialer or contacts screens (don't go to the voicemail) until the indicator tells you that you have a voice mail.
     
  11. volvoben macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Location:
    nowhere fast
    #11
    I had loads of problems with VV after about a week with my iPhone. Eventually I got a real technical support person who figured out that the unlimited texting option I added online had overwritten my family account as being some sort of group account with separate voice mailboxes...

    She had to remove the unlimited texting and data, change my account type, then add them back in...but it worked, and VV is a great change for me, it's very hard for me to forget about getting back to people...
     
  12. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #12
    I think its with 2.1....I just looked at this thread...and was like "wait..is this the same thing with mine" and I looked at my voicemail..and it started to call up the number..:(
     
  13. Chodite thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chodite

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #13
    As of 10 minutes ago, VV is now active on the new iPhone.

    My wife received a new voicemail, it asked for her password... she typed it in an viola, VV in effect! Thanks all for the replies. No idea what the issue was before though.
    I should've checked to see if it worked before I upgraded to 2.1
     
  14. gldelx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #14
    had she gotten any previous calls that left voicemail messages?
     
  15. Chodite thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Chodite

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #15
    I called from my phone last night (twice) and left 2 voicemails.
    No icon showing she had a voicemail and no visual voicemail at that time... until today's new voicemail.
     
  16. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #16
    It usually happens. Someday you may not have it, and then randomly it will start working! :) Glad to here it's working for her now. ;)
     

Share This Page