Visual Voicemail

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by iph0ne, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. iph0ne macrumors newbie

    iph0ne

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    I cannot access visual voicemail through my iphone! I tap voicemail and it automatically calls my voicemail and says "Welcome to AT&T voicemail...we need more info to direct ur call to a specific voicemail box..." Does anyone know how to fix this?
     
  2. unity macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    Green Bay, WI
    #2
    Is your Edge working. You may ave to have ATT rest the voicemail if so. If edge is not working on the phone or in your area, its a different problem.
     
  3. poppe macrumors 68020

    poppe

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Hills
    #3
    I had a lot of problems with my Visual Voicemail as well.

    So far I have found this feature to be nothing but problems. Sure it works and I guess it's nice you don't have to call ATT and listen there, but I don't think this feature should have been played so big.
     
  4. mjs975s Suspended

    mjs975s

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    This feature requires access to the EDGE network so the only way it wouldn't work flawlessly is if you are in an area without EDGE or the EDGE network is down in your area. I have yet to experience any issues with Visual VM and have yet to see any posts such as this. My guess is any issues you are having is with the EDGE network and not VIsual VM.
     
  5. megfilmworks macrumors 68020

    megfilmworks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks
    #5
    When I first got my phone (1st hour) it would call my voicemail, it fixed itself after I followed the voice menus in the call up and recorded my new greeting.
    All your old messages will be gone on the new service. (although I think ATT keeps them at the old dial up for a short period) It's been flawless ever since (over two weeks) and it makes my life sooo much easier by allowing me to sort quickly through less important calls and go directly to the important ones.
    Good Luck
     
  6. poppe macrumors 68020

    poppe

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Woodland Hills
    #6
    Oh yeah I get that I am and agree with you. I actually had one problem before I took my iPhone back for a replacement that was strictly iPhone problems. VV tried closing or crashing and going back to the home screen, except the iPhone couldn't make it back to the home screen. It flickered like crazy until I did a soft reset.

    The EDGE thing makes sense. What is weird is when VV and/or EDGE doesn't work and I have 3 bars or less, but not a complete loss of signal.
     
  7. iph0ne thread starter macrumors newbie

    iph0ne

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #7
    Thankss guys! I just called up AT&T and I got them to reset my voicemail and it worked. :]
     

Share This Page