Visual Voicemail

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by estark, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. estark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #1
    I have a new iPhone and seem to think that visual voicemail isn't working for me. If I have voicemail messages and click the voicemail icon, the phone just dials voicemail. There is no list. Is this normal?
     
  2. elbirth macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Location:
    North Carolina, US
    #2
    my iPhone 3G actually did this last night as well and I was very confused. I ended up letting it call the voicemail and listened to it for a few minutes then hung up. I then closed the phone app and relaunched it, clicked around the bottom buttons and went back to voicemail and it lagged for a second and prompted me for my voicemail password, then loaded visual voicemail. the last few times I've tried it, it loads fine, so I'm not sure what the hiccup was.
     
  3. Chris Kraft macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    La Habra, CA
    #3
    You may have to call Apple; 1-800-MYIPHONE

    I had a similar issue; my Voicemail button would not go active, letting me access the Visual Voicemail section.

    Apple walked me through some steps that got it working.
     
  4. iLeoMarc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    #4
    Go to you VoiceMail, it will dial. Change your Voicemail Password to what you desire. End call and enter Settings. It should ask for you voicemail password in a popup. From there it should start to work.
     
  5. edul0890 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #5
    I have the same problem and tried this, but nothing happened. Got any other suggestions?
     
  6. phatcat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #6
    my VM box also didn't work

    I fixed it by calling my # and press*

    Then I had to setup my pin

    It appears u need to setup ur mailbox.

    All my voicemail from my old iPhone were deleted
     
  7. Warpdrv macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #7
    Yeah.... I didn't see the visual vm stuff until I setup all my pin and mailbox stuff through voicemail steps...
     
  8. estark thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #8
    It seems like in the Friday confustion, ATT didn't set up a data plan. They had been charging me for data on a per MB basis. They set up the data plan and then Visual Voicemail worked. They also set up a data plan and removed the significant per MB data charge a had...
     
  9. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #9
    I had this issue on Friday, what you need to do after you set up your voicemail password, greeting etc, if the phone still dials voicemail is reset the network settings..

    Go into settings > general > reset > reset network settings..
     

Share This Page