Vizio and Integra defaults to 720p and stereo

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by trombo22, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. trombo22 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    #1
    When I first purchased my Apple TV 4, everything worked as expected but sometime around tvOS 11 not sure the exact timing but when I wake from sleep the Apple TV sets resolution to 720p and audio to 2.0. I'm running HDMI from apple tv through receiver to TV.

    If I restart the Apple TV(while leaving the tv and receiver on) it will set surround sound and resolution to 1080p.

    I have a Integra 40.7 and Vizio can't remember the exact version but was the last version before then new smart cast.
     
  2. jerwin macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #2
    Do you have the resolution set to "Auto", or do you have "1080p" selected?
     
  3. trombo22 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    #3
    I have everything set to auto currently, I have tried setting to 1080p but the unit still switches to 720p after a sleep(tv and receiver off/on via HDMI-cec). When I select 1080p is says this is unsupported resolution or something like that but it does work.
     
  4. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
  5. Audit13 macrumors 68030

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #5
    Sounds to me like the Apple TV is losing the edid information when the receiver and TV are off and the ATV goes to sleep.
     
  6. trombo22 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    #6
    I looked on the site for the exact HDMI version but it was not listed just said HDMI certified "Certified Premium High Speed HDMI Cable, 4K @ 60Hz, HDR, 18Gbps, 24AWG, YUV 4:4:4, 20ft, Black" from monoprice.
     
  7. Audit13 macrumors 68030

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #7
    I doubt it would be a cable issue if the current cable provides stable 1080p video and audio.
     
  8. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #8
    I suggest move the devices closer, for testing purposes only, and use a shorter cable, 6-10 foot.

    https://www.videopro.com.au/t-hdmi-demystified.aspx

    The first paragraph after META METADATA.
     
  9. trombo22 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    #9
    I'll do some testing this weekend with cables and bypassing devices to see if I can pinpoint what device/cable the issue is coming from.
     
  10. jerwin macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
  11. trombo22 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    #11
    The main issue with this is I have all my devices in a ventilated cabinet in basement and the only remote I use to turn on/off tv/receiver is Siri remote via CEC.
     
  12. trombo22 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    #12
    So I think I have narrowed it down to the tv. If I have the TV turn on first I can sleep and wake all I want and everything appears to work. I purchased a simple passthrough HDMI EDID(Always sets 1080p) for $15 that I will try on the tv HDMI cable when it arrives.

    My assumption is that for EDID info my surround sound receiver will passthrough the TV info and overwrite the audio info to pass to the Apple TV?
     

Share This Page