VLC 32/64 or 64?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Peter Franks, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. Peter Franks macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    Hey people, I downloaded VLC when I first got the MBP, and it didn't work. It was glitchy, and very slow so ditched it. Just wondered if it was the right one? Everyone still says this is the best one, so thought I'd try again. It was terrible when I got it so thought maybe this was why.

    What is the difference between this

    [​IMG]
    and this?
    [​IMG]

    Should there be any difference to the playback if you had either or?

    Maybe, It was the wrong one, or maybe it wasn't just very good.. Had heard the older ones were better?

    i5 2011 MBP, the 13 incher 2.3ghz
     
  2. Maxdevil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    #2
    I have Mac 10.6.8 and I download the 32/64 Intel Mac and works great!!

    ----------

    Anyway 64-bit is a word size that defines certain classes of computer architecture, buses, memory and CPUs, and by extension the software that runs on them. If you download the 32/64 version I think that will be ok!!
     
  3. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #3
    Wonder if maybe I did and it should be the 64 instead?
    Would it make any difference?
     
  4. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #4
    32/64 will run as 64bit on your machine, unless you get-info the application and choose "Open as 32-bit". The "64 bit" build obviously won't give you that option.
     
  5. Macman45 macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    The 32/64 gives you compatibility cross platform. I use the 64 exclusively for personal use, but have the combo on my MBP for studio purposes.
     
  6. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
  7. samh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #7
    If you were on a machine that couldn't run a 64-bit app.
     
  8. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #8
    Obviously, but then why download the 32/64, why not one or the other, the 32 or the 64 version which are also offered for download? That was my point
     
  9. samh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #9
    One download for multiple machines? For example at my work we have some machines that are 32-bit only.
     
  10. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #10
    I don't know mate, then they'd only offer you the 32/64 one to download, why bother with the other ones, ... there'd be no need.
     
  11. Hai1242 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

Share This Page