VLC better alternative

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by andygabriel, Dec 21, 2010.

1. andygabriel macrumors regular

Hi,
    are there better softwares to watch videos on the mac. I use VLC but do you guys recommend any other that will play any video format?

Cheers

2. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

3. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

ergdegdeg

Lunettes is a new attempt at "saving" VLC for the Mac and tries to redesign the interface while using the same core.

4. redwarrior macrumors 603

redwarrior

^^ Test version coming out in January. Thanks ergdegdeg.

5. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

ergdegdeg

I've been using Lunettes for a few months now and it works quite well. Sometimes it crashes when I go into full-screen mode but overall, it's nice.

6. karohan macrumors 6502

Movist is a great video player. It's all I use now.

7. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

Caleb531

8. davegoody macrumors 6502

davegoody

PLEX all the way

Hi guys, try Plex, it is fab. It based on the XBMC core, plays all my HD MKV files and just works. Not only that, the interface is sooooooo polished, it could have been (or perhaps SHOULD have been) what Front Row is.

9. munkery macrumors 68020

munkery

QuickTime can handle almost anything with Perian, Flip4Mac, and XiphQT installed. I find I only ever need VLC for some MKV files.

10. kuwisdelu macrumors 65816

I like MPlayer OSX Extended. Seems to play my mkv's more smoothly than VLC. I generally use QT + Perian for most things, though.

11. Nermal, Dec 21, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2010

Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

That's interesting; it's been 2-3 years since I last tried Plex and the UI was very clunky back then. I might give it another go now since it sounds like it's been improved.

12. andygabriel thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks everyone. I guess i'll have to try all of them.

13. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member