VLC install... is the icon supposed to look like this?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by onthecouchagain, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. onthecouchagain macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #1
    I downloaded VLC player from here: http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-macosx.html

    I d/led the 32 bit version, though honestly, I don't know what the difference is.

    Anyway, after opening up the download and dragging VLC into my Application folder (aka installing), is the VLC app in my App folder supposed to look like that? Looks strange to me... but it does open and work fine (after I press "Open" when it warns me that this is a dangerous file d/led via Chrome; do I have to answer this every time?)

    Where did I go wrong?

    PS. I also tried the 64 bit version, and same result.

    EDIT: I'm on a new Mac 2011 with 10.6.7, if that info matters.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Peteman100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #2
    It just hasn't loaded the icon yet. A restart will fix that.
     
  3. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #3
    That's what the icon should look like before you've agreed to run it (in the dialogue box you mention). The icon should revert to normal once it's running, if not restart the dock ("kilall Dock" in terminal) or reboot.
     
  4. onthecouchagain thread starter macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #4
    Thanks for the speedy info., guys. I was worried I got tricked into the wrong website and downloaded something bad (and gave it permission to install too!).

    The Killall Dock in Terminal did the trick.

    On a slightly unrelated note, whenever I type "killall" in Terminal, I always almost type "Killall humans..." instead, with the Bender voice in my head.

    >.<

    EDIT: Is there a big difference between 32 bit and 64 bit? I don't even know what either means. I currently have 32 bit.
     
  5. Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #5
    Hi onthecouch,
    this is the latest VLC & it's the 64-bit (as you can see you can set it to run in 32-bit, also):
     

    Attached Files:

  6. mennie macrumors newbie

    mennie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    #6
    The easiest way to refresh is drag the icon in app folder to desktop then you will see ican back to normal. After that, drag back to app folder again.
     
  7. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #7
    are you running it from an admin account or standard user account? just try a restart as suggested and should show up.
     
  8. onthecouchagain thread starter macrumors 604

    onthecouchagain

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    #8
    I see, but what is the difference between the two? I never really understood 32 bit versus 64 bit. All I can think of are graphics between 32 bit Playstation versus 64 bit Nintendo 64.

    : chuckle : (but really, I don't understand the difference).
     
  9. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #10
    Have you tried downloading the latest version? (Version 1.1.10.1 (Intel 64bit))
     
  10. Kendo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #11
    The icon also refreshes if you install another app (however the most current app you install will then inherit that icon that you posted).

    I generally don't worry about it until I have to reboot.
     
  11. McCombsJRM macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    #12
    According to the VLC page it can be downloaded in 32 bit, 64 bit, or 32/64 bit. I also don't really understand the difference. I have a new 2011 iMac and downloaded the 32/64 and it seems to work fine. Any thoughts to just running the 64 bit or the 32 bit version?
     
  12. Warbitrary macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #13
    It makes absolutely no difference in real-world use. The combined 32/64 will be a few megabytes more on your disk, that's all.
     

Share This Page