vlc player issues G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Drich290195, Aug 31, 2013.

  1. Drich290195 macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #1
    When using vlc player fullscreen on my powermac g5 i get a colored line around the letter box for the picture. Any one know why or can anyone reccomend a good media player for the G5 thanks
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Exactly which version of VLC are you using? What OS and video card?
     
  3. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #3
    Im using vlc 2.0.8 the latest with the nvidia gforce 5200 with 64mb and using leopard. I just want a good media player to play my videos any reccomends im new to the PPC my other mac is a macbook pro retina.
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    I have a similar setup, yet no coloured line. Have you tried an older version of VLC, maybe 1.1.12. If the video file plays in Quicktime, does the line show up? What is the file type?
     
  5. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #5
    its fine in quicktime these are divx and avi im running dual monitor if that makes a difference
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  7. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #7
    This is an example of whats happening
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #8
    yep same with just one tried 2.0.5 and the same

    ----------

    its fine with that version you posted mate
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    That may be a video artifact. Are you able to test play that video file on another Mac with VLC?
     
  10. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #10
    i can put it happens on them all it runs fine in the one that you posted though very odd
     
  11. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #11
    The link I posted to goes to the last 1.X branch of VLC. In the 1.1->2.0 transition, the VLC developers changed lots of things. It's almost a complete rewrite of VLC. It maybe a bug with VLC's decoding engine. I'd suggest submitting a bug report to them in hopes of getting it fixed. They're still developing for PowerPC and trying to make it better. Until then, you may want to keep using VLC 1.1.12.
     
  12. Drich290195 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Drich290195

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    #12
    yeah will do its odd how it does not do it on yours though if yours is the same any ideas
     
  13. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #13
    I don't have any DviX or AVI files to test it with, only h264 files.
     

Share This Page