VLC player problem while playing HD movies

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by kjs862, May 27, 2008.

  1. kjs862 macrumors 65816

    kjs862

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    #1
    Does anyone know why this is happening. When I try to run a .mkv HD file in VLC player I'm getting this error message:

    ffmpeg: more than 5 seconds of late video -> dropping frame (computer too slow ?)

    I have a power mac g5 duel 2.0ghz, 256mb ati radeon x800xt, and 6.5gb ram. Shouldn't I be able to run this fine?
     
  2. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #2
    Perhaps not. Is it 1080p? VLC is not the best option for playing 1080p HD. It works fine for me on 720p but chokes even on my 2.4GHz aluminum iMac with the HD2600XT.

    This is why I have switched exclusively to OSXBMC for all my HD content. In XBMC all HD content, even 1080p, plays smooth as silk.

    Unfortunately, it would not be an option for you because it only supports Intel processors.
     
  3. kjs862 thread starter macrumors 65816

    kjs862

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    #4
    Yeah now that I'm thinking about it, VLC player plays 720p OK, but when I try playing something that 1080p chokes up. I really wanted to hold off for as long as I can before I upgraded, but have I hit a brick wall... is it time for me to upgrade? I still thought my machine had a lot of juice left.
     
  4. jsalda macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    #5
    I'm having the same problem, MPlayer is no better. DP 1.8 G5, 9800XT (256MB), 4GB RAM. My MBP 2.4 doesn't have any problems, even with VLC.
     
  5. gabizou macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    #6
    Well, I know that at some point in time, the powermac g5 towers will cease to be useful(to put it blatantly), and soon we(we being the g5, g4, and g3 people) will have to upgrade to a new mac. I'm hitting the same problem with vlc on 1080p movies, but the 720p barely have hicups. However, sooner or later, the powerpc users will have to upgrade and get an intel if they way to play 1080p movies fluidly. Unfortunate but true.:(
     

Share This Page